Renewal of Control Orders Legislation 2011 - Human Rights Joint Committee Contents

Current membership
Lord Bowness (Conservative)

Baroness Campbell of Surbiton (Crossbench)

Lord Dubs (Labour)

Lord Lester of Herne Hill (Liberal Democrat)

Baroness Morris of Bolton (Conservative)

Lord Morris of Handsworth (Labour)

Dr Hywel Francis MP (Labour, Aberavon) (Chairman)

Dr Julian Huppert MP (Liberal Democrat, Cambridge)

Mrs Eleanor Laing MP (Conservative, Epping Forest)

Mr Dominic Raab MP (Conservative, Esher and Walton)

Mr Virendra Sharma MP (Labour, Ealing Southall)

Mr Richard Shepherd MP (Conservative, Aldridge-Brownhills)


The Committee has the power to require the submission of written evidence and documents, to examine witnesses, to meet at any time (except when Parliament is prorogued or dissolved), to adjourn from place to place, to appoint specialist advisers, and to make Reports to both Houses. The Lords Committee has power to agree with the Commons in the appointment of a Chairman.


The Reports and evidence of the Joint Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the two Houses. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the internet at

Current Staff

The current staff of the Committee is: Mike Hennessy (Commons Clerk), Rob Whiteway (Lords Clerk), Murray Hunt (Legal Adviser), Angela Patrick (Assistant Legal Adviser), Lisa Wrobel (Senior Committee Assistant), Michelle Owens (Committee Assistant), Claudia Rock (Committee Assistant), Greta Piacquadio (Committee Support Assistant), and Keith Pryke (Office Support Assistant).


All correspondence should be addressed to The Clerk of the Joint Committee on Human Rights, Committee Office, House of Commons London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219 2797; the Committee's e-mail address is

contents next page

House of Lords home page Parliament home page House of Commons home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2011
Prepared 2 March 2011