Facilitating Peaceful Protest - Human Rights Joint Committee Contents

Joint Committee on Human Rights

The Joint Committee on Human Rights is appointed by the House of Lords and the House of Commons to consider matters relating to human rights in the United Kingdom (but excluding consideration of individual cases); proposals for remedial orders, draft remedial orders and remedial orders.

The Joint Committee has a maximum of six Members appointed by each House, of whom the quorum for any formal proceedings is two from each House.

Current membership
Lord Bowness (Conservative)

Baroness Campbell of Surbiton (Crossbench)
Lord Dubs (Labour)

Lord Lester of Herne Hill (Liberal Democrat)

Lord Morris of Handsworth (Labour)
Baroness Stowell of Beeston (Conservative)

Dr Hywel Francis MP (Labour, Aberavon) (Chairman)
Dr Julian Huppert MP (Liberal Democrat, Cambridge)

Mrs Eleanor Laing MP (Conservative, Epping Forest)
Mr Dominic Raab MP (Conservative, Esher and Walton)
Mr Virendra Sharma MP (Labour, Ealing Southall)

Mr Richard Shepherd MP (Conservative, Aldridge-Brownhills)


The Committee has the power to require the submission of written evidence and documents, to examine witnesses, to meet at any time (except when Parliament is prorogued or dissolved), to adjourn from place to place, to appoint specialist advisers, and to make Reports to both Houses. The Lords Committee has power to agree with the Commons in the appointment of a Chairman.


The Reports and evidence of the Joint Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the two Houses. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the internet at http://www.parliament.uk/jchr

Current Staff

The current staff of the Committee is: Mike Hennessy (Commons Clerk), Rob Whiteway (Lords Clerk), Murray Hunt (Legal Adviser), Angela Patrick (Assistant Legal Adviser), Lisa Wrobel (Senior Committee Assistant), Michelle Owens (Committee Assistant), Claudia Rock (Committee Assistant), Greta Piacquadio (Committee Support Assistant), and Keith Pryke (Office Support Assistant).


All correspondence should be addressed to The Clerk of the Joint Committee on Human Rights, Committee Office, House of Commons London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219 2797; the Committee's e-mail address is jchr@parliament.uk

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2011
Prepared 25 March 2011