Draft Defamation Bill - Joint Committee on the Draft Defamation Bill Contents

The Joint Committee on the Draft Defamation Bill

The Joint Committee on the Draft Defamation Bill was appointed by the House of Commons and the House of Lords on 31 March 2011 to examine the Draft Defamation Bill and report to both Houses by 31 October 2011. It has now completed its work.


Lord Bew (Crossbench)

Lord Grade of Yarmouth CBE (Conservative)

Baroness Hayter of Kentish Town (Labour)

Lord Marks of Henley-on-Thames QC (Liberal Democrat)

Rt Hon Lord Mawhinney (Conservative) (Chairman)

Rt Hon Lord Morris of Aberavon KG QC (Labour)


Sir Peter Bottomley MP (Conservative, Worthing West)

Rehman Chishti MP (Conservative, Gillingham and Rainham)

Christopher Evans MP (Labour/Co-operative, Islwyn)

Dr Julian Huppert MP (Liberal Democrat, Cambridge)

Rt Hon Mr David Lammy MP (Labour, Tottenham)

Stephen Phillips MP (Conservative, Sleaford and North Hykeham)


The Committee has the power to require the submission of written evidence and documents, to examine witnesses, to meet at any time (except when Parliament is prorogued or dissolved), to adjourn from place to place, to appoint specialist advisers, and to make Reports to both Houses. The Lords Committee has power to agree with the Commons in the appointment of a Chairman.


The Report and evidence of the Joint Committee is published by The Stationery Office by Order of the two Houses. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the internet at http://www.parliament.uk/business/committees/committees-a-z/joint-select/draft-defamation-bill1/

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are: Chris Shaw (Commons Clerk), Kate Meanwell (Lords Clerk), Simon Fuller (Legal Specialist), and Rob Dinsdale (Committee Assistant).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Joint Committee on the Draft Defamation Bill, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 8363; the Committee's email address is defamationbill@parliament.uk

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2011
Prepared 19 October 2011