Draft Defamation Bill - Joint Committee on the Draft Defamation Bill Contents

Witnesses and Associated Written Evidence

(published in Volume II on the Committee's website http://www.parliament.uk/business/committees/committees-a-z/joint-select/draft-defamation-bill1/publications/)

Wednesday 27 April 2011  
Lord Lester of Herne Hill

Wednesday 4 May 2011
Jonathan Heawood, Jo Glanville, Dr Evan Harris and Tracey Brown, Libel Reform Campaign

Professor Alistair Mullis, Professor and Head of the Law School, UAW, Dr Andrew Scott, LSE

Monday 9 May 2011
Keith Mathieson, Partner, Reynolds Porter Chamberlain LLP, Mark Stephens, Partner, Finers Stephens Innocent, Marcus Partington, Chair, Media Lawyers Association and David Price, David Price Solicitors & Advocates

Nigel Tait, Partner, Carter-Ruck, Rod Christie-Miller, Chief Executive and Partner, Schillings Solicitors, Jeremy Clarke-Williams, Head of the Media Libel and Privacy Department at Russell, Jones and Walker Solicitors, Duncan Lamont, Head of Media at Charles Russell LLP

Wednesday 11 May 2011

Alan Rusbridger, Editor, the Guardian, Philip Johnston, Assistant Editor, the Daily Telegraph, and Alastair Brett, Former Legal Director of the Times

Wednesday 18 May 2011

Sophie Farthing, Policy Officer, Liberty, David Marshall, Senior In-House Lawyer, Which?, Charmian Gooch, Director, Global Witness, Rowan Davies, Campaigns Organiser, Mumsnet,

Rt Hon the Lord Mackay of Clashfern KT, Former Lord High Chancellor, and Rt Hon the Lord Wakeham DL, Former Chairman, Press Complaints Commission

Monday 23 May 2011

Nicholas Lansman, Secretary General, Internet Service Providers Association, Mark Gracey, Chair of ISPA's Content Liability Subgroup, Internet Service Providers Association, Emma Ashcroft, Director of Public Policy, Yahoo, Dr Ian Walden, Professor of Information and Communications Law and Head of the Institute of Computer and Communications Law in the Centre for Commercial Law Studies, Queen Mary University of London,

Vicky Harris, Senior Legal Counsel in the Markets Division of Thomson Reuters, The Publishers Association, Tim Godfray, Chief Executive, The Booksellers Association, and Professor Chris Frost, Chair of the National Union of Journalist's Ethics Council, National Union of Journalists

Monday 13 June 2011

Sarah Jones, Head of Litigation, BBC, Tom Bower, Author

Dr Ben Goldacre, Author and Medical Doctor, Dr Philip Campbell, Editor-in-Chief, Nature, Dr Fiona Godlee, Editor-in-Chief, BMJ, and Dr Simon Singh, Author, Journalist and TV producer

Wednesday 15 June 2011

Rt Hon Kenneth Clarke MP QC, Lord Chancellor and Secretary of State for Justice, Rt Hon Jeremy Hunt MP, Secretary of State for Culture, Olympics, Media and Sport, and Rt Hon Lord McNally, Minister of State, Ministry of Justice

Monday 20 June 2011

Rt Hon Baroness Scotland of Asthal QC, Former Attorney General,
Rt Hon Lord Falconer of Thoroton PC QC, Former Lord Chancellor and Secretary of State for Justice, and Rt Hon Jack Straw MP, Former Lord Chancellor and Secretary of State for Justice

Wednesday 22 June 2011

Desmond Browne QC, and Adrienne Page QC, Joint Heads of Chambers, 5RB, Hugh Tomlinson QC, Matrix Chambers, and Paul Tweed, Senior Partner, Johnsons Solicitors

Wednesday 6 July 2011
Rt Hon The Lord Neuberger of Abbotsbury PC MR, The Master of the Rolls, The Hon Mr Justice Tugendhat Kt, Head of the Queen's Bench jury and non-jury Lists

Sir Charles Gray Kt, Chairman, Early Resolution Group, Sir Stephen Sedley, Chair of the Alternative Libel Group and former Lord Justice of Appeal, and The Rt Hon Lord Woolf of Barnes PC, Former Lord Chief Justice of England and Wales

Monday 11 July 2011
Ian Hislop, Editor, Private Eye

Monday 18 July 2011

Edward Garnier QC MP, Solicitor General

Paul Dacre, Editor-in-Chief, Associated Newspapers, and Matthew Parris, Journalist, The Times

previous page contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2011
Prepared 19 October 2011