Draft Financial Services Bill - Draft Financial Services Bill Joint Committee Contents


Evidence is published online at www.parliament.uk/financialservicesbill and available for inspection at the Parliamentary Archives (020 7219 5314)

Evidence received by the Committee is listed below in chronological order of both oral evidence session and in alphabetical order. Those witnesses marked with * gave both oral evidence and written evidence. Those marked with ** gave oral evidence and did not submit any written evidence. All other witnesses submitted written evidence only.

Oral evidence in chronological order

**  QQ 1-29    Mr Charles Dumas, Chairman, Lombard Street            Research Ltd

*        Ms Gillian Tett, US Managing Editor, Financial          Times

**  QQ 30-63    Lord Burns, non-Executive Chairman of Santander          UK plc and of Alliance & Leicester plc

**  QQ 64-98    Mr Andrea Enria, Chairman, European Banking          Authority

**  QQ 99-118    Dr Malcolm Edey, Reserve Bank of Australia

*  QQ 119-155    Consumer Focus

*        Which?

*        Citizens Advice Bureau

*        moneysavingexpert.com

**        Mr Paul Lewis, freelance financial journalist

*  QQ 156-206    Financial Services Compensation Scheme

*        Financial Ombudsman Service

*        Money Advice Service

**  QQ 207-245    Rt Hon Alistair Darling MP

**  QQ 246-287    Professor Charles Goodhart CBE

*        Professor Eilis Ferran

**        Professor John Kay

**  QQ 288-530    Sir John Vickers, Chair, Independent Commission on          Banking

*  QQ 351-394    Association of Financial Markets in Europe (AFME)

**        British Private Equity and Venture Capital Association          (BVCA)

**  QQ 395-437    Association of Private Client Investment Managers and        Stockbrokers

*        Investment Management Association (IMA)

**        National Association of Pension Funds

*  QQ 438-481    Complaints Commissioner

*        Financial Services Consumer Panel

*        Financial Services Practitioner Panel

**        FSA Smaller Businesses Practitioner Panel

*  QQ 482-557    Association of British Credit Unions (ABCUL)

**  QQ 438-557    Association of Financial Mutuals

*  QQ 438-557    Association of Independent Financial Advisers

*  QQ 438-557    Building Societies Association

**  QQ 438-521    Institute of Financial Planning

**  QQ 522-557    International Regulatory Strategy Group (City of          London)

*  QQ 558-642    Association of British Insurers

**  QQ 643-691    Sir John Gieve

*  QQ 692-761    Barclays

*        HSBC

**        Royal Bank of Scotland

*  QQ 762-847    Bank of England

**  QQ 848-914    Deutsche Bank

*        Goldman Sachs

**        JP Morgan

*  QQ 915-1004  Financial Services Authority

*  QQ 1005-1076  Rt Hon George Osborne MP, Chancellor of the            Exchequer, HM Treasury

*        Rt Hon Mark Hoban MP, Financial Secretary, HM          Treasury

Alphabetical list of witnesses



*  Association of British Credit Unions Limited (ABCUL)

*  Association of British Insurers (ABI)

*  Association for Financial Markets in Europe (AFME)

**  Association of Financial Mutuals

*  Association of Independent Financial Advisers (AIFA)

**  Association of Private Client Investment Managers


AXA Group

*  Bank of England

*  Barclays

Berwin Leighton Paisner LLP

TRG Bingham

Professor Julia Black, London School of Economics and Political Science

Brewin Dolphin

British Bankers Association (BBA)

British Insurance Brokers' Association (BIBA)

**  British Private Equity and Venture Capital Association (BVCA)

The Building Societies Association (BSA)

Campaign for Community Banking Services

Cazenove Capital Management

The Chartered Financial Analyst Society of the United Kingdom (CFA UK)

Chartered Insurance Institute (CII)

*  Citizens Advice Bureau

City of London Corporation


Confederation of British Industry (CBI)

Consumer Credit Association (CCA)

*  Consumer Focus

Council of Mortgage Lenders (CML)

**  Rt Hon Alistair Darling MP

Mr TWR Davies

Deloitte LLP

**  Deutsche Bank

**  Mr Andrea Enria, European Banking Authority

Euroclear UK & Ireland Limited (EUI)

*  Professor Eilis Ferran, Professor of Companies and Securities Law,  Cambridge University

Fidelity International

Finance and Leasing Association (FLA)

Financial Ombudsman Service

*  Financial Services Authority (FSA)

**  Financial Services Authority Smaller Businesses Practitioner Panel

*  Financial Services Compensation Scheme

*  Financial Services Consumer Panel

*  Financial Services Practitioner Panel

Futures and Options Association

**  Sir John Gieve

*  Goldman Sachs

**  Professor Charles Goodhart CBE

Professor Maximilian J B Hall, Loughborough University

Herbert Smith LLP

*  HM Treasury



Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales

**  Institute of Financial Planning

Institute of Insurance Brokers (IIB)


**  International Regulatory Group

*  Investment Management Association (IMA)

**  JP Morgan

**  Professor John Kay, Economist

Lansons Communications LLP

Legal and General Group

**  Mr Paul Lewis

Listing Authority Advisory Committee

Lloyds Banking Group

London Stock Exchange Group

Professor Niamh Moloney, London School of Economics

*  Money Advice Service

The Money Advice Trust

*  MoneySavingExpert.com

**  National Association of Pension Funds

Nationwide Building Society

NYSE Euronext

*  Office of the Complaints Commissioner

Office of Fair Trading

Old Mutual plc

Positive Money

Quoted Companies Alliance (QCA)

Rathbone Brothers

**  Reserve Bank of Australia

Reynolds Porter Chamberlain LLP

*  Royal Bank of Scotland


Smaller Businesses Practitioner Panel

*  Ms Gillian Tett, US Managing Editor, Financial Times

Unite the Union

**  Sir John Vickers, Chair, Independent Commission on Banking

Mr Michael J Wade, Chairman, Besso Insurance Group

*  Which?

Williams Farrell Woodward

previous page contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2011
Prepared 19 December 2011