Draft Communications Data Bill - Draft Communications Data Bill Joint Committee Contents

The Joint Committee on the Draft Communications Data Bill

The Joint Committee on the Draft Communications Data Bill was appointed by the House of Commons on 21 June 2012 and by the House of Lords on 28 June 2012 to examine the Draft Communications Data Bill and to report to both Houses by 30 November 2012. It has now completed its work.

Lord Armstrong of Ilminster (Crossbench) Rt Hon Nicholas Brown MP (Labour)
Rt Hon Lord Blencathra (Chair) (Conservative) Michael Ellis MP (Conservative)
Baroness Cohen of Pimlico (Labour) Dr Julian Huppert MP (Liberal Democrat)
Lord Faulks (Conservative) Stephen Mosley MP (Conservative)
Rt Hon Lord Jones (Labour) Craig Whittaker MP (Conservative)
Lord Strasburger (Liberal Democrat) David Wright MP (Labour)


The Committee had the power to require the submission of written evidence and documents, to examine witnesses, to meet at any time (except when Parliament is prorogued or dissolved), to adjourn from place to place, to appoint specialist advisers, and to make Reports to both Houses. The Lords Committee had power to agree with the Commons in the appointment of a Chairman.


The Report of the Committee was published by The Stationery Office by Order of both Houses. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at http://www.parliament.uk/business/committees/committees-a-z/joint-select/draft-communications-bill/.

Committee staff

The staff of the Committee were Chloe Mawson (Lords Clerk), Jessica Mulley (Commons Clerk), Michael Collon (Lords Second Clerk), Claire Morley (Committee Specialist), and Rob Dinsdale (Committee Assistant).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Joint Committee on the Draft Communications Data Bill, House of Commons, 7 Millbank, London SW1A 0PW. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 8363; the Committee's email address is draftcommunicationsdatabill@parliament.uk

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2012
Prepared 11 December 2012