Planning for the next National Security Strategy: comments on the Government response to the Committee's First Report of Session 2010-12 - Joint Committee on the National Security Strategy Contents

The Joint Committee on the National Security Strategy

The Joint Committee on the National Security Strategy is appointed by the House of Lords and the House of Commons to consider the National Security Strategy.

Lord Fellowes (Crossbench)

Lord Foulkes of Cumnock (Labour/Co-operative)

Lord Harris of Haringey (Labour)

Lord Lee of Trafford (Liberal Democrat)

Baroness Manningham-Buller (Crossbench)

Baroness Neville-Jones (Conservative)

Baroness Ramsay of Cartvale (Labour)

Lord Sterling of Plaistow (Conservative)

Baroness Taylor of Bolton (Labour)

Lord Waldegrave of North Hill (Conservative)

Margaret Beckett MP (Labour) (Chair)

Mr James Arbuthnot MP (Conservative)

Mr Adrian Bailey MP (Labour/Co-operative)

Sir Alan Beith MP (Liberal Democrat)

Sir Malcolm Bruce MP (Liberal Democrat)

Fabian Hamilton MP (Labour)

Paul Murphy MP (Labour)

Richard Ottaway MP (Conservative)

Mark Pritchard MP (Conservative)

Sir Malcolm Rifkind (Conservative)

Keith Vaz MP (Labour)

Mr Tim Yeo MP (Conservative)


The Committee has the power to require the submission of written evidence and documents, to examine witnesses, to meet at any time (except when Parliament is prorogued or dissolved), to adjourn from place to place within the United Kingdom, to appoint specialist advisers, and to make Reports to both Houses. The Lords Committee has power to agree with the Commons in the appointment of a Chairman.


The Report of the Joint Committee is published by The Stationery Office by Order of the two Houses. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the internet at

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Philippa Helme (Commons Clerk), Christopher Clarke (Lords Clerk), Emma Graham (Second Clerk), Christine Randall (Senior Committee Assistant), Susan Ramsay (Commons Committee Assistant), Rita Logan, (Lords Committee Assistant) and Alex Paterson (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Commons Clerk of the Joint Committee on the National Security Strategy, Committee Office, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 2712; the Committee's email address is


Oral evidence is published online at 

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2012
Prepared 11 July 2012