Changing banking for good - Parliamentary Commission on Banking Standards Contents

Parliamentary Commission on Banking Standards

The Parliamentary Commission on Banking Standards is appointed by both Houses of Parliament to consider and report on professional standards and culture of the UK banking sector, taking account of regulatory and competition investigations into the LIBOR rate-setting process, lessons to be learned about corporate governance, transparency and conflicts of interest, and their implications for regulation and for Government policy and to make recommendations for legislative and other action.

Current membership

Mr Andrew Tyrie MP (Conservative, Chichester) (Chairman)

Most Rev and Rt Hon the Archbishop of Canterbury (Non-Affiliated)

Mark Garnier MP (Conservative, Wyre Forest)

Baroness Kramer (Liberal Democrat)

Rt Hon Lord Lawson of Blaby (Conservative)

Mr Andrew Love MP (Labour/Co-operative, Edmonton)

Rt Hon Pat McFadden MP (Labour, Wolverhampton South East)

Rt Hon Lord McFall of Alcluith (Labour/Co-operative)

John Thurso MP (Liberal Democrat, Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross)

Lord Turnbull KCB CVO (Crossbench)


The Commission's powers include the powers to require the submission of written evidence and documents, to examine witnesses, to meet at any time (except when Parliament is prorogued or dissolved), to adjourn from place to place, to appoint specialist advisers, and to make Reports to both Houses.

A full list of the Commission's powers is available in the House of Commons Votes and Proceedings of 16 July 2012 on page 266, and the House of Lords Minutes of Proceedings of 17 July 2012, Item 10.


The Reports and evidence of the Commission are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the House. All publications of the Commission (including press notices) are on the Internet at

Commission staff

The following parliamentary staff worked for the Commission:

Colin Lee (Commons Clerk and Chief of Staff), Adam Mellows-Facer (Deputy Chief of Staff), Lydia Menzies (Second Clerk), Sian Woodward (Clerk), Richard McLean (Lords Clerk), Lucy Petrie (Second Clerk), Jay Sheth (Commission Specialist), Gavin Thompson (Commission Specialist), James Abbott (Media Officer), James Bowman (Senior Committee Assistant), Tony Catinella (Senior Committee Assistant), Claire Cozens (Senior Committee Assistant), Emma McIntosh (Senior Committee Assistant), Rebecca Burton (Committee Assistant), Katherine McCarthy (Committee Assistant), Daniel Moeller (Committee Assistant), Baris Tufekci (Committee Assistant), Ann Williams (PA to the Chief of Staff) and Danielle Nash (Committee Support Assistant).

The following staff were seconded from outside of Parliament to work for the Commission as Commission Specialists:

Philip Airey, Amlie Baudot, Paul Brione, Suvro Dutta, Oliver Gilman, Oonagh Harrison, Sadiq Javeri, Robert Law, Zoe Leung-Hubbard, Mayur Patel, Julia Rangasamy, John Sutherland, Greg Thwaites and Elizabeth Wilson.


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerks of the Parliamentary Commission on Banking Standards c/o the Treasury Select Committee, 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 8773; the Commission's email address is

Volumes of this Report

This Report is the Fifth Report of the Commission (and the First Report of Parliamentary Session 2013-14). It has nine volumes:

Volume I: Summary, and Conclusions and recommendations)

Volume II: Chapters 1 to 11 and annexes, together with formal minutes

Volume III: Oral evidence given to the Commission

Volume IV: Written evidence given to the Commission

Volume V: Written evidence given to the Commission

Volume VI: Written evidence given to the Commission

Volume VII: Oral and written evidence given to Sub-Committees A and B

Volume VIII: Oral and written evidence given to Sub-Committees C, D, E, F and G

Volume IX: Oral and written evidence given to Sub-Committees H, I, J and K

Lists of witnesses who gave evidence and lists of people or organisations who submitted written evidence are given in the relevant volumes of the Report.

*House of Commons Printing Numbers

This Report is printed under House of Commons Printing number HC 175. It also incorporates papers ordered for printing in Session 2012-13 under the following House of Commons printing numbers:

HC 606-i to -xl

HC 619-i to -ii

HC 705-i to -viii

HC 783-i

HC 706-i to -v

HC 821-i to -iii

HC 710-i to -ii

HC 784-i

HC 881-i to -v

HC 804-i to -ii

HC 860-i to -iv

HC 945-i

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2013
Prepared 19 June 2013