Legislative Scrutiny: Immigration Bill - Joint Committee on Human Rights Contents

Joint Committee on Human Rights

The Joint Committee on Human Rights is appointed by the House of Lords and the House of Commons to consider matters relating to human rights in the United Kingdom (but excluding consideration of individual cases); proposals for remedial orders, draft remedial orders and remedial orders.

The Joint Committee has a maximum of six Members appointed by each House, of whom the quorum for any formal proceedings is two from each House.

Current membership
Baroness Berridge (Conservative)

Lord Faulks (Conservative)

Baroness Kennedy of the Shaws (Labour)
Lord Lester of Herne Hill (Liberal Democrat)

Baroness Lister of Burtersett (Labour)

Baroness O'Loan (Crossbench)

Dr Hywel Francis MP (Labour, Aberavon) (Chair)
Mr Robert Buckland MP (Conservative, South Swindon)

Rehman Chishti MP (Conservative, Gillingham and Rainham)

Rt Hon Simon Hughes MP (Liberal Democrat, Bermondsey and Old Southwark)

Mr Virendra Sharma MP (Labour, Ealing Southall)

Sir Richard Shepherd MP (Conservative, Aldridge-Brownhills)


The Committee has the power to require the submission of written evidence and documents, to examine witnesses, to meet at any time (except when Parliament is prorogued or dissolved), to adjourn from place to place, to appoint specialist advisers, and to make Reports to both Houses. The Lords Committee has power to agree with the Commons in the appointment of a Chairman.


The Reports and evidence of the Joint Committee are published by The Stationery Office by Order of the two Houses. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the internet at http://www.parliament.uk/jchr

Current Staff

The current staff of the Committee is: Mike Hennessy (Commons Clerk), Megan Conway (Lords Clerk), Murray Hunt (Legal Adviser), Natalie Wease (Assistant Legal Adviser), Lisa Wrobel (Senior Committee Assistant), Michelle Owens (Committee Assistant), Holly Knowles (Committee Support Assistant), and Keith Pryke (Office Support Assistant).


All correspondence should be addressed to The Clerk of the Joint Committee on Human Rights, Committee Office, House of Commons London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219 2797; the Committee's e-mail address is jchr@parliament.uk

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2013
Prepared 18 December 2013