The next National Security Strategy - Joint Committee on the National Security Strategy Contents

The Joint Committee on the National Security Strategy

The Joint Committee on the National Security Strategy is appointed by the House of Lords and the House of Commons to consider the National Security Strategy.

Lord Boateng (Labour)

Lord Clark of Windermere (Labour)

Baroness Falkner of Margravine (Liberal Democrat)

Lord Forsyth of Drumlean (Conservative)

Lord Levene of Portsoken (Crossbench)

Lord MacGregor of Pulham Market (Conservative)

Lord Mitchell (Labour)

Baroness Neville-Jones (Conservative)

Lord Ramsbotham (Crossbench)

Lord West of Spithead (Labour)

Margaret Beckett MP (Labour) (Chair)

Mr Adrian Bailey MP (Labour/Co-operative)

Sir Alan Beith MP (Liberal Democrat)

Sir Malcolm Bruce MP (Liberal Democrat)

Fabian Hamilton MP (Labour)

Paul Murphy MP (Labour)

Sir Richard Ottaway MP (Conservative)

Mark Pritchard MP (Conservative)

Sir Malcolm Rifkind MP (Conservative)

Rory Stewart MP (Conservative)

Keith Vaz MP (Labour)  

Mr Tim Yeo MP (Conservative)


The Committee has the power to require the submission of written evidence and documents, to examine witnesses, to meet at any time (except when Parliament is prorogued or dissolved), to adjourn from place to place within the United Kingdom, to appoint specialist advisers, and to make Reports to both Houses. The Lords Committee has power to agree with the Commons in the appointment of a Chairman.


The Report of the Joint Committee is published by The Stationery Office by Order of the two Houses. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the internet at

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Charlotte Littleboy (Commons Clerk), James Whittle (Lords Clerk), Emma Graham (Committee Specialist), Christine Randall (Senior Committee Assistant), Susan Ramsay (Commons Committee Assistant), Nicola Barker (Lords Committee Assistant) and Alex Paterson (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Commons Clerk of the Joint Committee on the National Security Strategy, Committee Office, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 2712; the Committee's email address is

contents next page

© Parliamentary copyright 2015
Prepared 3 March 2015