Draft Investigatory Powers Bill Contents


The following witnesses gave evidence. Transcripts can be viewed on the Committee’s inquiry page at http://www.parliament.uk/draft-investigatory-powers.

Monday 30 November 2015 Question number

Richard Alcock and Paul Lincoln, Home Office, and Lewis Neal, Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Q 1–25

Richard Berry, National Police Chiefs’ Council, Keith Bristow and Chris Farrimond, National Crime Agency, and Simon York, HMRC

Q 26–38

Wednesday 2 December 2015

The Rt Hon Sir Mark Waller, Intelligence Services Commissioner

Q 39–46

The Rt Hon Sir Stanley Burnton, Interception of Communications Commissioner, Jo Cavan, Interception of Communications Commissioner’s Office, The Rt Hon Lord Judge, Chief Surveillance Commissioner, and Clare Ringshaw-Dowle, Chief Surveillance Inspector

Q 47–60

David Anderson QC, Independent Reviewer of Terrorism Legislation, and Professor Michael Clarke, Royal United Services Institute

Q 61–75

Monday 7 December 2015

Professor Ross Anderson, University of Cambridge, Dr Paul Bernal, University of East Anglia, Professor Sir David Omand GCB, King’s College London, and Professor Mark Ryan, University of Birmingham

Q 76–93

The Rt Hon Lord Blunkett and The Rt Hon Owen Paterson MP

Q 94–100

Wednesday 9 December 2015

Mark Hughes, BT Security, Adam Kinsley, Sky, and Hugh Woolford, Virgin Media

Q 101–115

James Blessing, Internet Service Providers’ Association (ISPA), Keycom, and Adrian Kennard, Andrews & Arnold Ltd

Q 116–126

Shami Chakrabati, Liberty, Jim Killock, Open Rights Group, Renate Samson, Big Brother Watch, and Caroline Wilson Palow, Privacy International

Q 127–136

Monday 14 December 2015

Tim Musson, The Law Society of Scotland, Colin Passmore, The Law Society, Bob Satchwell, Society of Editors, and Andy Smith, National Union of Journalists

Q 137–144

Adrian Gorham, O2 Telefónica, Jonathan Grayling, EE, Mark Hughes, Vodafone, and Simon Miller, 3

Q 145–161

Wednesday 16 December 2015

Michael Atkinson, National Policing Data Communications Group, Detective Superintendent Paul Hudson, Metropolitan Police Service, and Detective Superintendent Matt Long, National Crime Agency

Q 162–173

The Rt Hon David Davis MP and Baroness Jones of Moulescoomb

Q 174–185

Peter Carter QC, Martin Chamberlain QC, Matthew Ryder QC, and Graham Smith, Bird & Bird LLP

Q 186–196

Monday 21 December 2015

Rachel Griffin, Suzy Lamplugh Trust, Rachel Logan, Amnesty International UK, and Alan Wardle, National Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children

Q 197–206

Professor Bill Buchanan, Edinburgh Napier University, Eric King, and Erka Koivunen, F-Secure Corporation

Q 207–215

Professor Christopher Forsyth, Policy Exchange, and Robin Simcox, Henry Jackson Society

Q 216–223

Wednesday 6 January 2016

Christopher Graham, Information Commissioner

Q 224–233

William E. Binney, retired Technical Director of the United States National Security Agency, and Jesper Lund, The Danish IT Political Association

Q 234–249

Sir J. Bruce Robertson, New Zealand Commissioner of Security Warrants

Q 250–258

Wednesday 13 January 2016

The Rt Hon Theresa May MP, Home Secretary

Q 259–282

© Parliamentary copyright 2016