The Government’s policy on the use of drones for targeted killing Contents

Joint Committee on Human Rights

The Joint Committee on Human Rights is appointed by the House of Lords and the House of Commons to consider matters relating to human rights in the United Kingdom (but excluding consideration of individual cases); proposals for remedial orders, draft remedial orders and remedial orders.

The Joint Committee has a maximum of six Members appointed by each House, of whom the quorum for any formal proceedings is two from each House.

Current membership


Rt Hon Ms Harriet Harman QC MP (Labour, Camberwell and Peckham) (Chair)

Fiona Bruce MP (Conservative, Congleton)

Ms Karen Buck MP (Labour, Westminster North)

Jeremy Lefroy MP (Conservative, Stafford)

Mark Pritchard MP (Conservative, The Wrekin)

Amanda Solloway MP (Conservative, Derby North)


Baroness Buscombe (Conservative)

Baroness Hamwee (Liberal Democrat)

Rt Hon Lord Henley (Conservative)

Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon (Labour)

Baroness Prosser (Labour)

Rt Hon Lord Woolf (Crossbench)


The Committee has the power to require the submission of written evidence and documents, to examine witnesses, to meet at any time (except when Parliament is prorogued or dissolved), to adjourn from place to place, to appoint specialist advisers, and to make Reports to both Houses. The Lords Committee has power to agree with the Commons in the appointment of a Chairman.


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and in print by Order of the two Houses.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the relevant inquiry page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Robin James (Commons Clerk), Donna Davidson (Lords Clerk), Murray Hunt (Legal Advisor), Alexander Horne (Deputy Legal Advisor), Ami Breen (Legal Assistant), Penny McLean (Committee Specialist), Gabrielle Hill (Senior Committee Assistant), Miguel Boo Fraga (Committee Assistant) and Liz Parratt (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Joint Committee on Human Rights, Committee Office, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 3472; the Committee’s email address is

© Parliamentary copyright 2015

9 May 2016