Conflict, Stability and Security Fund Contents

The Joint Committee on the National Security Strategy

The Joint Committee on the National Security Strategy is appointed by the House of Lords and the House of Commons to consider the National Security Strategy.

Current membership

House of Lords

Lord Boateng (Labour)

Baroness Buscombe (Conservative)

Baroness Falkner of Margravine (Liberal Democrat)

Lord Hamilton of Epsom (Conservative)

Lord Harris of Haringey (Labour)

Lord Mitchell (Non-affiliated)

Lord Powell of Bayswater (Crossbench)

Lord Ramsbotham (Crossbench)

Lord Trimble (Conservative)

Lord West of Spithead (Labour)

House of Commons

Margaret Beckett MP (Labour, Derby South) (Chair)

Crispin Blunt MP (Conservative, Reigate)

Yvette Cooper MP (Labour, Normanton, Pontefract and Castleford)

Mr Dominic Grieve MP (Conservative, Beaconsfield)

Sir Gerald Howarth MP (Conservative, Aldershot)

Dr Julian Lewis MP (Conservative, New Forest East)

Angus Brendan MacNeil MP (Scottish National Party, Na h-Eileanan an Iar)

Dr Andrew Murrison MP (Conservative, South West Wiltshire)

Robert Neill MP (Conservative, Bromley and Chislehurst)

Stephen Twigg MP (Labour (Co-op), Liverpool, West Derby)

Mrs Theresa Villiers MP (Conservative, Chipping Barnet)

Mr Iain Wright MP (Labour, Hartlepool)

The following MPs were members of the Committee during the course of this inquiry:

Damian Green MP (Conservative, Ashford)

Keith Vaz MP (Labour, Leicester East)


The Committee has the power to require the submission of written evidence and documents, to examine witnesses, to meet at any time (except when Parliament is prorogued or dissolved), to adjourn from place to place within the United Kingdom, to appoint specialist advisers, and to make Reports to both Houses. The Lords Committee has power to agree with the Commons in the appointment of a Chairman.


The reports of the Committee are published by Order of both Houses. All publications of the Committee are on the Internet at

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Nick Beech (Commons Clerk), Antony Willott (Lords Clerk), Ashlee Godwin (Commons Committee Specialist), James Hockaday (Commons Committee Assistant), Sophie Taylor (Lords Committee Assistant), and Estelle Currie (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Commons Clerk of the Joint Committee on the National Security Strategy, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 8586; the Committee’s email address is

6 February 2017