Restoration and Renewal of the Palace of Westminster Contents

Appendix 1: Members and interests


Baroness Stowell of Beeston (Co-Chairman)

Chris Grayling MP (Co-Chairman)

Lord Carter of Coles

Chris Bryant MP

Lord Deighton

Neil Gray MP

Lord Laming

Ian Paisley MP

Baroness Smith of Basildon

Mr Jacob Rees-Mogg MP

Lord Wallace of Tankerness

Mark Tami MP

Declarations of interest

Lord Carter of Coles

Chair of Her Majesty’s Government’s Property Advisory Panel.

Co-author of Operational Efficiency Programme: final report, published in April 2009, which led to the establishment of the Government Property Unit.

Lord Deighton

Declared an interest in respect of James Bulley, the Specialist Adviser to the Joint Committee, who had worked for him for seven years at the London Organising Committee of the Olympic and Paralympic Games.

Baroness Smith of Basildon

President of Youthbuild UK.

Baroness Stowell of Beeston

Declared an interest in respect of Penny Young, Librarian and Director General of Information Services, House of Commons, who she had previously worked with at the BBC, and who is a personal friend.

A full list of members’ interests can be found in the Register of Lords’ Interests: and in the House of Commons Register of Members’ Financial Interests:

James Bulley OBE FRICS, Specialist Adviser, declared that he had previously worked on a bid for the contract to conduct the Independent Options Appraisal (IOA). The consortium involved in the bid withdrew part way through the tendering process. Mr Bulley had had no further involvement with the Restoration and Renewal Programme before being appointed as Specialist Adviser.

© Parliamentary copyright 2016