Mental Health and Deaths in Prison: Interim Report Contents

Joint Committee on Human Rights

The Joint Committee on Human Rights is appointed by the House of Lords and the House of Commons to consider matters relating to human rights in the United Kingdom (but excluding consideration of individual cases); proposals for remedial orders, draft remedial orders and remedial orders.

The Joint Committee has a maximum of six Members appointed by each House, of whom the quorum for any formal proceedings is two from each House.

Current membership


Ms Harriet Harman QC MP (Labour, Camberwell and Peckham) (Chair)

Fiona Bruce MP (Conservative, Congleton)

Ms Karen Buck MP (Labour, Westminster North)

Jeremy Lefroy MP (Conservative, Stafford)

Mark Pritchard MP (Conservative, The Wrekin)

Amanda Solloway MP (Conservative, Derby North)


Baroness Hamwee (Liberal Democrat)

Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon (Labour)

Baroness O’Cathain (Conservative)

Baroness Prosser (Labour)

Lord Trimble (Conservative)

Lord Woolf (Crossbench)


The Committee has the power to require the submission of written evidence and documents, to examine witnesses, to meet at any time (except when Parliament is prorogued or dissolved), to adjourn from place to place, to appoint specialist advisers, and to make Reports to both Houses. The Lords Committee has power to agree with the Commons in the appointment of a Chairman.


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at by Order of the two Houses.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the relevant inquiry page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Robin James (Commons Clerk), Donna Davidson (Lords Clerk), Murray Hunt (Legal Adviser), Alexander Horne (Deputy Legal Adviser), Katherine Hill (Committee Specialist), Penny McLean (Committee Specialist), Shabana Gulma (Specialist Assistant), Miguel Boo Fraga (Senior Committee Assistant) and Heather Fuller (Lords Committee Assistant).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Joint Committee on Human Rights, Committee Office, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 2467; the Committee’s email address is

29 April 2017