Draft Domestic Abuse Bill Contents


The following witnesses gave evidence. Transcripts can be viewed on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Tuesday 2 April 2019

Lucy Hadley, Campaigns and Public Affairs Officer, Women’s Aid, Andrea Simon, Public Affairs Manager, End Violence Against Women, and Ellie Butt, Senior Policy and Public Affairs Manager, Refuge


Karla McLaren Government and Political Relations Manager, Amnesty International, Olive Craig, Senior Legal Officer, Rights of Women, and Rachel Robinson, Principal, Justice Domain, Equality and Human Rights Commission


Tuesday 23 April 2019

Emily Frith, Head of Policy and Advocacy, Office of the Children’s Commissioner, Eleanor Briggs, Head of Policy and Research, Action for Children, and Debbie Moss, Chief of Staff, Barnardo’s


Elspeth Thomson, member of the Resolution National Committee, Resolution, Amanda Barron JP, Domestic Abuse Liaison Magistrate for the Central London Magistrates Courts, Nicole Jacobs, CEO, and Tanya Allen, Specialist Domestic Abuse Court Coordinator, Standing Together Against Domestic Abuse


Tuesday 30 April 2019

Duncan Shrubsole, Director of Policy, Communications and Research, Lloyds Banking Foundation, and Lyndsey Dearlove, Head of UK SAYS NO MORE, Hestia Housing and Support


Donna Covey CBE, Chief Executive, Against Violence and Abuse (AVA), Dr Jasna Magic, Domestic Abuse Research and Policy Development, Galop, Jo Todd, Chief Executive Officer, Respect, and Ruth Bashall, Chief Executive Officer, Stay Safe East


Tuesday 7 May 2019

Dame Glenys Stacey, HM Chief Inspector of Probation, Suzanne Jacob OBE, Chief Executive, SafeLives, and Penelope Gibbs, Director, Transform Justice; DCC


Louisa Rolfe, NPCC lead on domestic abuse, National Police Chiefs’ Council, Detective Superintendent Deb Smith, Police Superintendents Association, Nazir Afzal OBE, Welsh Government adviser on Violence against Women and former Chief Executive of the Association of Police and Crime Commissioners, and Kate Ellis, Solicitor, Centre for Women’s Justice


Tuesday 14 May 2019

Zehrah Hasan, Policy and Campaigns Assistant, Liberty, Lucila Granada, Director, Latin American Women’s Rights Service, Jane Gordon, Legal Director, Sisters for Change, and Marchu Girma, Deputy Director, Women for Refugee Women


Tina Reece, Head of Engagement, Welsh Women’s Aid, and Kevin Hyland OBE, the former Independent Anti Slavery Commissioner


Tuesday 21 May 2019

Councillor Simon Blackburn, Chair of the LGA Safer, Stronger Communities Board and Leader of Blackpool City Council, and Hannah Gousy, Policy and Public Affairs Manager, Crisis


Victoria Atkins MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Crime, Safeguarding and Vulnerability and Parliamentary Under Secretary of State (Minister for Women), Home Office, and Edward Argar MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, Ministry of Justice


Wednesday 22 May 2019

Mrs Heather Wheeler MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary, Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government, and Jackie Doyle-Price MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary, Department of Health and Social Care


Published: 14 June 2019