The right to family life: children whose mothers are in prison Contents

Joint Committee on Human Rights

The Joint Committee on Human Rights is appointed by the House of Lords and the House of Commons to consider matters relating to human rights in the United Kingdom (but excluding consideration of individual cases); proposals for remedial orders, draft remedial orders and remedial orders.

The Joint Committee has a maximum of six Members appointed by each House, of whom the quorum for any formal proceedings is two from each House.

Current membership

House of Commons

Ms Harriet Harman QC MP (Labour, Camberwell and Peckham) (Chair)

Fiona Bruce MP (Conservative, Congleton)

Ms Karen Buck MP (Labour, Westminster North)

Joanna Cherry QC MP (Scottish National Party, Edinburgh South West)

Jeremy Lefroy MP (Conservative, Stafford)

Scott Mann MP (Conservative, North Cornwall)

House of Lords

Lord Brabazon of Tara (Conservative)

Lord Dubs (Labour)

Baroness Ludford (Liberal Democrat)

Baroness Massey of Darwen (Labour)

Lord Singh of Wimbledon (Crossbench)

Lord Trimble (Conservative)


The Committee has the power to require the submission of written evidence and documents, to examine witnesses, to meet at any time (except when Parliament is prorogued or dissolved), to adjourn from place to place, to appoint specialist advisers, and to make Reports to both Houses. The Lords Committee has power to agree with the Commons in the appointment of a Chairman.


© Parliamentary Copyright House of Commons 2019. This publication may be reproduced under the terms of the Open Parliament Licence, which is published at

Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at by Order of the two Houses.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Eve Samson (Commons Clerk), Alexandra McMillan (Lords Clerk), Eleanor Hourigan (Counsel), Samantha Granger (Deputy Counsel), Katherine Hill (Committee Specialist), Shabana Gulma (Specialist Assistant), Miguel Boo Fraga (Senior Committee Assistant), Claire Coast-Smith (Lords Committee Assistant), and Liz Parratt (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Joint Committee on Human Rights, Committee Office, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 2467; the Committee’s email address is

You can follow the Committee on Twitter using @HumanRightsCtte

Published: 9 September 2019