Human Rights Protections in International Agreements Contents

Joint Committee on Human Rights

The Joint Committee on Human Rights is appointed by the House of Lords and the House of Commons to consider matters relating to human rights in the United Kingdom (but excluding consideration of individual cases); proposals for remedial orders, draft remedial orders and remedial orders.

The Joint Committee has a maximum of six Members appointed by each House, of whom the quorum for any formal proceedings is two from each House.

Current membership

House of Commons

Ms Harriet Harman QC MP (Labour, Camberwell and Peckham) (Chair)

Fiona Bruce MP (Conservative, Congleton)

Ms Karen Buck MP (Labour, Westminster North)

Joanna Cherry QC MP (Scottish National Party, Edinburgh South West)

Jeremy Lefroy MP (Conservative, Stafford)

Scott Mann MP (Conservative, North Cornwall)

House of Lords

Baroness Hamwee (Liberal Democrat)

Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon (Labour)

Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne (Conservative)

Baroness Prosser (Labour)

Lord Trimble (Conservative)

Lord Woolf (Crossbench)


The Committee has the power to require the submission of written evidence and documents, to examine witnesses, to meet at any time (except when Parliament is prorogued or dissolved), to adjourn from place to place, to appoint specialist advisers, and to make Reports to both Houses. The Lords Committee has power to agree with the Commons in the appointment of a Chairman.


© Parliamentary Copyright House of Commons 2019. This publication may be reproduced under the terms of the Open Parliament Licence, which is published at

Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at by Order of the two Houses.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the relevant inquiry page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Eve Samson (Commons Clerk), Simon Cran-McGreehin (Lords Clerk), Eleanor Hourigan (Counsel), Samantha Godec (Deputy Counsel), Katherine Hill (Committee Specialist), Shabana Gulma (Specialist Assistant), Miguel Boo Fraga (Senior Committee Assistant), Claire Coast-Smith (Lords Committee Assistant), and Lucy Dargahi (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Joint Committee onHuman Rights, Committee Office, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 2467; the Committee’s email address is

You can follow the Committee on Twitter using @HumanRightsCtte.

Published: 6 March 2019