Human Rights and the Government’s response to COVID-19: The detention of young people who are autistic and/or have learning disabilities Contents

Joint Committee on Human Rights

The Joint Committee on Human Rights is appointed by the House of Lords and the House of Commons to consider matters relating to human rights in the United Kingdom (but excluding consideration of individual cases); proposals for remedial orders, draft remedial orders and remedial orders.

The Joint Committee has a maximum of six Members appointed by each House, of whom the quorum for any formal proceedings is two from each House.

Current membership

House of Commons

Ms Harriet Harman QC MP (Labour, Camberwell and Peckham) (Chair)

Fiona Bruce MP (Conservative, Congleton)

Ms Karen Buck MP (Labour, Westminster North)

Joanna Cherry QC MP (Scottish National Party, Edinburgh South West)

Mrs Pauline Latham MP (Conservative, Mid Derbyshire)

Dean Russell MP (Conservative, Watford)

House of Lords

Lord Brabazon of Tara (Conservative)

Lord Dubs (Labour)

Baroness Ludford (Liberal Democrat)

Baroness Massey of Darwen (Labour)

Lord Singh of Wimbledon (Crossbench)

Lord Trimble (Conservative)


The Committee has the power to require the submission of written evidence and documents, to examine witnesses, to meet at any time (except when Parliament is prorogued or dissolved), to adjourn from place to place, to appoint specialist advisers, and to make Reports to both Houses. The Lords Committee has power to agree with the Commons in the appointment of a Chairman.


© Parliamentary Copyright House of Commons 2019. This publication may be reproduced under the terms of the Open Parliament Licence, which is published at

Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at by Order of the two Houses.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Miguel Boo Fraga (Senior Committee Assistant), Samantha Granger (Deputy Counsel), Shabana Gulma (Specialist Assistant), Zoe Grunewald (Media Officer), Katherine Hill (Committee Specialist), Eleanor Hourigan (Counsel), Lucinda Maer (Commons Clerk), Dan Weedon (Lords Committee Assistant), and George Webber (Lords Clerk).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Joint Committee on Human Rights, Committee Office, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 2467; the Committee’s email ddress is

You can follow the Committee on Twitter using @HumanRightsCtte.

Published: 12 June 2020