Safeguarding (Code of Practice) Measure Contents

Ecclesiastical Committee

The Ecclesiastical Committee is a statutory Committee appointed under the Church of England Assembly (Powers) Act 1919.

It comprises thirty members, fifteen of whom are Members of the House of Commons, appointed by the Speaker, and fifteen of whom are members of the House of Lords, appointed by the Lord Speaker. The quorum is twelve.

Appointments to the Committee are generally made early in a Parliament. Unless the Speaker or the Lord Speaker decide otherwise, members appointed by them remain on the Committee for the life of the Parliament.

While its powers are those laid down by the Act, the procedures it has adopted are those of a Joint Select Committee.

Current membership



Baroness Butler-Sloss

Fleur Anderson MP

The Earl of Cork and Orrery

Sir Peter Bottomley MP

Lord Cormack

Mr Ben Bradshaw MP

Baroness Eaton

Fiona Bruce MP

Lord Faulkner of Worcester

Dr Lisa Cameron MP

Lord Field of Birkenhead

Miriam Cates MP

Lord Glenarthur

Sir Roger Gale MP

Baroness Harris of Richmond

Mr David Lammy MP

Baroness Howarth of Breckland

Rachael Maskell MP

Lord Jones

Gary Sambrook MP

Lord Lexden

Andrew Selous MP

Lord Lisvane

Jim Shannon MP

Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall

Sir Desmond Swayne MP

Lord Plant of Highfield

Stephen Timms MP

Baroness Symons of Vernham Dean

Martin Vickers MP


The Ecclesiastical Committee examines draft Measures presented to it by the Legislative Committee of the General Synod of the Church of England. It reports to Parliament on whether or not it considers the measures to be expedient.

It generally asks members of the General Synod to assist it in its deliberations. In some circumstances a conference of the Ecclesiastical Committee and the Legislative Committee may be convened.

The Church of England Measure on which the Committee has reported is presented to both Houses in its final form at the same time as the Committee makes its report.

Before the Measure becomes law, both Houses must approve motions that the Measure should be presented to the Sovereign for Royal Assent in the form that it was laid before Parliament.

Once both Houses have passed the necessary approval motions, the Measure is presented for Royal Assent and becomes law.


The reports and proceedings of the Committee are published by Order of both Houses. All publications of the Committee are on the Internet at


All correspondence should be addressed to the Secretary of the Ecclesiastical Committee, Legislation Office, House of Lords, London, SW1A 0PW. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 3103, and the email address is

© Parliamentary copyright 2021