Safeguarding (Code of Practice) Measure Contents

Minutes of Proceedings

Tuesday 20 July 2021

Minutes of the (virtual) meeting of the Ecclesiastical Committee held on Tuesday 20 July 2021
10.00 am.


Baroness Butler-Sloss (Chair)

Sir Peter Bottomley MP

The Earl of Cork and Orrery

Fiona Bruce MP

Lord Cormack

Dr Lisa Cameron MP

Baroness Eaton

Miriam Cates MP

Lord Faulkner of Worcester

Sir Roger Gale MP

Baroness Harris of Richmond

Rachael Maskell MP

Lord Jones

Andrew Selous MP

Lord Lexden

Sir Desmond Swayne MP

Lord Lisvane

Stephen Timms MP

Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall

Martin Vickers MP

Declaration of Interests

Members of the Committee declared the following interests:

Sir Peter Bottomley

Parliamentary warden at St Margaret’s Church, Westminster

Fiona Bruce MP

Lay canon at Chester Cathedral

The Earl of Cork and Orrery

Governor of the Chichester Cathedral Restoration and Development Trust

Trustee of the Chichester Cathedral Millennium Endowment Trust

Lord Cormack

Deputy High Steward of Lincoln Cathedral

Baroness Eaton

Lay canon at Bradford Cathedral

Baroness Harris of Richmond

High steward of Ripon Cathedral

Nephew is a priest in the Isle of Man

Lord Lisvane

Married to a Church of England priest

Churchwarden (s2(a) and (f) of inserted 5A)

Stephen Timms MP

Member of the St Paul’s Cathedral Council

Martin Vickers MP

Member of the Lincoln Cathedral Council

Safeguarding (Code of Practice) Measure

The Committee considered the Measure, with the assistance of the following representatives of the General Synod:

The Rt Revd Jonathan Gibbs, Bishop of Huddersfield, Lead Bishop for Safeguarding

The Rt Worshipful Morag Ellis QC, Chair of the Steering Committee

Mr David Worlock, Deputy Director of Development, Safeguarding

The Reverend Alexander McGregor, Chief Legal Adviser

Mr William Nye, Secretary General

Mr Chris Packer, Legislative Counsel


The Committee deliberated.

It was moved that the Safeguarding (Code of Practice) Measure be deemed expedient.

The motion was agreed to.

The Committee adjourned.

© Parliamentary copyright 2021