The UK's national security machinery Contents

The Joint Committee on the National Security Strategy

The Joint Committee on the National Security Strategy is appointed by the House of Lords and the House of Commons to consider the National Security Strategy.

Current membership

House of Lords

Lord Brennan (Non-affiliated)

Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill (Labour)

Baroness Henig (Labour)

Baroness Hodgson of Abinger (Conservative)

Lord King of Bridgwater (Conservative)

Lord Laming (Crossbench)

Baroness Lane-Fox of Soho (Crossbench)

Baroness Neville-Jones (Conservative)

Lord Reid of Cardowan (Labour)

Lord Strasburger (Liberal Democrat)

House of Commons

Margaret Beckett MP (Labour, Derby South) (Chair)

Sarah Champion MP (Labour, Rotherham)

Yvette Cooper MP (Labour, Normanton, Pontefract and Castleford)

Mr Tobias Ellwood MP (Conservative, Bournemouth East)

Richard Graham MP (Conservative, Gloucester)

Darren Jones MP (Labour, Bristol North West)

Alicia Kearns MP (Conservative, Rutland and Melton)

Sir Edward Leigh MP (Conservative, Gainsborough)

Angus Brendan MacNeil MP (Scottish National Party, Na h-Eileanan an Iar)

Sir Robert Neill MP (Conservative, Bromley and Chislehurst)

Bob Stewart MP (Conservative, Beckenham)

Tom Tugendhat MP (Conservative, Tonbridge and Malling)

The following members were part of this inquiry until January 2021 when they were discharged from the Committee: Lord Campbell of Pittenweem (Liberal Democrat), Lord Harris of Haringey (Labour) and Lord Powell of Bayswater (Crossbench)


The Committee has the power to require the submission of written evidence and documents, to examine witnesses, to meet at any time (except when Parliament is prorogued or dissolved), to adjourn from place to place within the United Kingdom, to appoint specialist advisers, and to make Reports to both Houses. The Lords Committee has power to agree with the Commons in the appointment of a Chairman.


© Parliamentary Copyright House of Commons 2021. This publication may be reproduced under the terms of the Open Parliament Licence, which is published at

The Reports of the Committee are published by Order of both Houses. All publications of the Committee are on the Internet at

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Carolyn Bowes (Commons Committee Operations Officer), Harriet Deane (Commons Clerk), Mark Doyle (Media & Communications Officer), Ashlee Godwin (Commons Senior Specialist and Team Lead, International Affairs Unit), Simon Keal (Lords Clerk) and Breda Twomey (Lords Committee Assistant).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Commons Clerk of the Joint Committee on the National Security Strategy, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 8092/4043; the Committee’s email address is

Published: 19 September 2021 Site information    Accessibility statement