Draft Online Safety Bill Contents

Joint Committee on the draft Online Safety Bill

The Joint Committee on the draft Online Safety Bill was appointed by the House of Lords and the House of Commons to conduct pre-legislative scrutiny of the Government’s draft Bill to establish a new regulatory framework to tackle harmful content online.


Damian Collins MP (Conservative, Folkstone and Hythe) (Chair)

Debbie Abrahams MP (Labour, Oldham East and Saddleworth)

Darren Jones MP (Labour, Bristol Northwest)

John Nicolson MP (Scottish National Party, Ochil and South Perthshire)

Dean Russell MP (Conservative, Watford)

Suzanne Webb MP (Conservative, Stourbridge)

Lord Black of Brentwood (Conservative)

Lord Clement Jones CBE (Liberal Democrat)

Lord Gilbert of Panteg (Conservative)

Baroness Kidron OBE (Crossbench)

Lord Knight of Weymouth (Labour)

Lord Stevenson of Balmacara (Labour)


The Committee had the power to send for persons, papers and records; to sit notwithstanding any adjournment of the House; to report from time to time; to appoint specialist advisers; and to adjourn from place to place.


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at https://committees.parliament.uk/committee/534/draft-online-safety-bill-joint-committee/ and in print by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The staff who worked on this committee were David Slater (Commons Clerk), Andrea Dowsett (Lords Clerk), Ellie Hassan (Lords Policy Analyst), Holly Woodhead (Second Lords Clerk), Zoe Hays (Committee Specialist), Hannah Stewart (Deputy Counsel), Jillian Luke (Committee Specialist), Ian Hook (Senior Executive Officer), Bruce Sinclair (Committee Operations Officer) and Monika Rubens (Committee Operations Officer), Lucy Dargahi (Senior Communication Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed the Joint Committee on the draft Online Safety Bill Committee, Committee Office, House of Lords, London SW1A 0PW. Telephone 020 7219 0883. The Committee’s email address is jconlinesafetybill@parliament.uk.

© Parliamentary copyright 2021