Legislative Scrutiny: Nationality and Borders Bill (Part 5)—Modern slavery Contents

Joint Committee on Human Rights

The Joint Committee on Human Rights is appointed by the House of Lords and the House of Commons to consider matters relating to human rights in the United Kingdom (but excluding consideration of individual cases); proposals for remedial orders, draft remedial orders and remedial orders.

The Joint Committee has a maximum of six Members appointed by each House, of whom the quorum for any formal proceedings is two from each House.

Current membership

House of Commons

Harriet Harman QC MP (Labour, Camberwell and Peckham) (Chair)

Joanna Cherry QC MP (Scottish National Party, Edinburgh South West)

Florence Eshalomi MP (Labour, Vauxhall)

Angela Richardson MP (Conservative, Guildford)

Dean Russell MP (Conservative, Watford)

David Simmonds MP (Conservative, Ruislip, Northwood and Pinner)

House of Lords

Lord Brabazon of Tara (Conservative)

Lord Dubs (Labour)

Lord Henley (Conservative)

Baroness Ludford (Liberal Democrat)

Baroness Massey of Darwen (Labour)

Lord Singh of Wimbledon (Crossbench)


The Committee has the power to require the submission of written evidence and documents, to examine witnesses, to meet at any time (except when Parliament is prorogued or dissolved), to adjourn from place to place, to appoint specialist advisers, and to make Reports to both Houses. The Lords Committee has power to agree with the Commons in the appointment of a Chairman.


© Parliamentary Copyright House of Commons 2021. This publication may be reproduced under the terms of the Open Parliament Licence, which is published at www.parliament.uk/site-information/copyright-parliament.

Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website by Order of the two Houses.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Chloe Cockett (Senior Specialist), Olivia Crabtree (Lords Clerk), Busayo Esan (Inquiry Manager), Liam Evans (Committee Specialist), Thiago Froio Simoes (Committee Specialist), Alexander Gask (Deputy Counsel), Beth Goodwin (Committee Operations Manager), Samantha Granger (Deputy Counsel), Eleanor Hourigan (Counsel), Natalia Janiec-Janicki (Committee Operations Manager), Lucinda Maer (Commons Clerk), George Perry (Media Officer), Nicholas Taylor (Second Commons Clerk) and Jackie Yu Hon Lam (Committee Operations Officer)


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Joint Committee on Human Rights, Committee Office, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 4710; the Committee’s email address is jchr@parliament.uk.

You can follow the Committee on Twitter using @HumanRightsCtte

Published: 21 December 2021 Site information    Accessibility statement