Register of hereditary peers who wish to stand for election


  The House of Lords Act 1999 disqualified all hereditary peers for membership of the House, but excepted from this general exclusion 90 hereditary peers and the holders of the offices of Earl Marshal and Lord Great Chamberlain. From the end of the present parliamentary session, section 2(4) of the 1999 Act and Standing Order 10 provide for a vacancy among any of the 90 excepted hereditary peers to be filled by means of a by-election.[1] Paragraph (5) of Standing Order 10 requires the Clerk of the Parliaments to maintain and publish annually a register of hereditary peers (other than peers of Ireland) who wish to stand in any such by-election.

  The following hereditary peers have indicated their wish to stand in any by-election under Standing Order 10. This list includes both hereditary peers who were members of the House before the enactment of the 1999 Act and hereditary peers who have succeeded to their peerages since the 1999 Act and who have satisfied the Crown Office of their succession.

Addison, V.
Aldenham, L.
Aldington, L.
Alexander of Tunis, L.
Amherst of Hackney, L.
Ashbourne, L.
Belper, L.
Biddulph, L.
Birdwood, L.
Birkett, L.
Cadman, L.
Cairns, L.
Calverley, L.
Camoys, L.
Carew, L.
Cathcart, E.
Chesham, L.
Clancarty, E.
Clydesmuir, L.
Cowley, E.
Cranbrook, L.
Cromer, E.
Cromwell, L.
Daresbury, L.
Daventry, V.
De La Warr, E.
De Ramsey, L.
Devonport, V.
Devonshire, D.
Drogheda, E.
Dundonald, L.
Eccles, V.
E Kimberley, E.
Effingham, E.
Enniskillen, E.
Gage, L.
Gainford, L.
Gladwyn, L.
Glanusk, L.
Grantchester, L.
Grantley, L.
Glasgow, E.
Gray, L.
Halifax, E.
Head, V.
Holmpatrick, L.
Inchyra, L.
Ironside, L.
Iveagh, E.
Kennet, L.
Killearn, L.
Kimberley, E.
Kinnoull, E.
Kintore, E.
Lauderdale, E.
Lawrence, L.
Layton, L.
Leathers, V.
Long, V.
Mackintosh of Halifax, V.
Macpherson, L.
Massereene & Ferrard, V.
Meston, L.
Milford, L.
Milverton, Rev. L.
Monk Bretton, L.
Monkswell, L.
Montgomery of Alamein, V.
Napier and Ettrick, L.
Napier of Magdala, L.
Norrie, L.
Newall, L.
Pender, L.
Poole, L.
Rathcavan, L.
Renwick, L.
Rowallan, L.
Runciman of Doxford, V.
Rutland, D.
Samuel, V.
Seaford, L.
Sempill, L.
Shannon, E.
Stair, E.
St Davids, V.
Strathcarron, L.
Strathmore and Kinghorne, E.
Sudeley, L.
Sutherland, D.
Swinton, E.
Terrington, L.
Teynham, L.
Tollemache, L.
Torrington, V.
Trenchard, V.
Tryon, L.
Vernon, L.
Weir, V.
Wilton, E.
Yarborough, E.

1   Until then the runner-up in the elections held on 27-28 October and 4-5 November 1999 becomes a Member of the House. Back


House of Lords home page Parliament home page House of Commons home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2001