Previous Section Back to Table of Contents Lords Hansard Home Page

Lord Addington: My Lords, I must first thank all noble Lords who have spoken in this enlightening debate, which has shown the almost total lack of confidence in the current scheme. The noble Lord, Lord Skidelsky, said that he was not sure whether I had the right suggestion; but he did not like the current scheme very much in any case. That was as near as the Government got to a wholehearted endorsement in the debate.

I feel that it is the function of this House to ask another place to think again. With one or two minor exceptions, that is our only real function. In those circumstances, I feel that when we see something that we think is wrong, we should ask another place to think again. If we do not do that, there is very little point in us being here. In those circumstances, I commend the Motion to the House.

7.7 p.m.

On Question, Whether the Motion shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 38; Not-Contents, 86.

Division No. 1


Acton, L.
Addington, L. [Teller.]
Beaumont of Whitley, L.
Beloff, L.
Chester, Bp.
Dahrendorf, L.
Darcy (de Knayth), B.
David, B.
Donaldson of Kingsbridge, L.
Falkland, V.
Fisher of Rednal, B.
Hamwee, B.
Harris of Greenwich, L.
Howell, L.
Jenkins of Hillhead, L.
Jenkins of Putney, L.
Kilbracken, L.
Lawrence, L.
Lester of Herne Hill, L.
Longford, E.
Mar and Kellie, E.
McNair, L.
Meston, L.
Mishcon, L.
Monkswell, L.
Park of Monmouth, B.
Rea, L.
Redesdale, L.
Rodgers of Quarry Bank, L.
Russell, E. [Teller.]
Seear, B.
Taylor of Blackburn, L.
Thomson of Monifieth, L.
Tordoff, L.
Warnock, B.
White, B.
Williams of Crosby, B.
Wyatt of Weeford, L.


Addison, V.
Astor of Hever, L.
Astor, V.
Boardman, L.
Borthwick, L.
Brabazon of Tara, L.
Bridgeman, V.
Brougham and Vaux, L.
Burnham, L.
Butterworth, L.
Cadman, L.
Carlisle of Bucklow, L.
Chelmsford, V.
Chesham, L.
Clark of Kempston, L.
Cochrane of Cults, L.
Colwyn, L.
Craig of Radley, L.
Craigmyle, L.
Cranborne, V. [Lord Privy Seal.]
Cumberlege, B.
Dean of Harptree, L.
Denham, L.
Dilhorne, V.
Dixon-Smith, L.
Dundonald, E.
Faithfull, B.
Flather, B.
Fraser of Carmyllie, L.
Goschen, V.
Greenway, L.
Hacking, L.
Haig, E.
Harmar-Nicholls, L.
Henley, L.
Hesketh, L.
HolmPatrick, L.
Howe of Aberavon, L.
Howe, E.
Hylton-Foster, B.
Inglewood, L. [Teller.]
Kilmarnock, L.
Kimball, L.
Lauderdale, E.
Leigh, L.
Lindsay, E.
Long, V.
Lucas, L.
Lyell, L.
Mackay of Ardbrecknish, L.
Mackay of Clashfern, L. [Lord Chancellor.]
Marlesford, L.
Mersey, V.
Miller of Hendon, B.
Mills, V.
Moyne, L.
Murton of Lindisfarne, L.
Norrie, L.
Northesk, E.
Orkney, E.
Pearson of Rannoch, L.
Pender, L.
Peyton of Yeovil, L.
Quinton, L.
Rankeillour, L.
Rawlings, B.
Renton, L.
Renwick, L.
Rodger of Earlsferry, L.
Rodney, L.
Shaw of Northstead, L.
Skelmersdale, L.
Skidelsky, L.
St. Davids, V.
Stanley of Alderley, L.
Stewartby, L.
Stockton, E.
Strange, B.
Strathclyde, L. [Teller.]
Thomas of Gwydir, L.
Torrington, V.
Trumpington, B.
Ullswater, V.
Vivian, L.
Whitelaw, V.
Wynford, L.

Resolved in the negative, and Motion disagreed to accordingly.

30 Jan 1995 : Column 1323

        House adjourned at a quarter past seven o'clock.

Next Section Back to Table of Contents Lords Hansard Home Page