Agenda for Action in the UK:  Continued


List of witnesses

    The following witnesses gave evidence. Those marked gave oral evidence.

 Advisory Unit, Computers in Education
* Aslib
  Aspen Consultancy
  Bank of England
  British Association for Information and Library Education and Research (BAILER),
  Heads of Departments and Schools Committee
  British Embassy, Paris
  British Embassy, Tokyo
  British Computer Society (on behalf of the Engineering Council)
  British High Commission, Singapore
* British Library
* British Medical Association
  British Standards Institution
* British Telecommunications plc
  Butterworths (British and Irish)
  Cable and Wireless plc
* Cable Communications Association
  Christian Action Research and Education (CARE)
  Communication Workers Union
* CompuServe
  Confederation of British Industry
* Rt Hon Viscount Cranborne DL, Lord Privy Seal and Leader of the House of Lords
  De Montfort University
*Department for Education and Employment
*Department of Health
  Department of National Heritage
*Department of Trade and Industry
  Direct Marketing Association
  Dow Jones Telerate Ltd
*Dr Mary Dykstra-Lynch
  Economic and Social Research Council
  European Communications Network (ECN)
*European Commission (M Robert Verrue, Director-General, DGXIII)
  European Informatics Market (EURIM)
  Federal Trust
  Free Computers for Education
  Further Education Development Agency (FEDA)
  General Council of the Bar
  Mr Andrew Graham, Balliol College, Oxford
  GTi Electronics Group
  Mr J M Harper
  Heriot-Watt University, Professor Roy Leitch
  Home Office
* Janice Hughes, Spectrum Strategy Consultants
  ICL plc
  Independent Committee for the Supervision of Standards of
  Telephone Information Services (ICSTIS)
* Independent Television Commission (ITC)
  Institute of Management Service
* Institute of Physics
  Institute for the Management of Information Systems (IDPM)
  Intervid Ltd
  Joint Information Systems Committee
  Law Society
  Law Society of Scotland
  Library and Information Commission
* Mercury Communications Ltd
* Microsoft Corporation
  Multimedia Exhibitions Ltd (Free Computers for Education
  Museum Documentation Association (MDA)
* National Association of Citizens' Advice Bureaux
  National Consumer Council
* National Council for Educational Technology (NCET)
* NatWest Group
* News International
* Newspaper Society
* Office of Telecommunications (Oftel)
  Open University
  Oracle Corporation UK Ltd
  Performing Right Society (PRS)
  Policy Studies Institute, London
  Robert Gordon University
  Royal Academy of Engineering
  Royal College of Nursing
  Royal Society of Edinburgh
  Stephen Saxby, University of Southampton
  Scottish Office
  Society of Public Information Networks (SPIN)
  Standing Conference of National and University Libraries (SCONUL)
* Mr Ian Taylor MBE MP, Minister for Science and Technology
  Teacher Training Agency
* Technology Foresight ITEC Panel
  Telecential Communications
  John Tomlinson, Member of the European Parliament for Birmingham West
  Universities and Colleges Information Systems Association (UCISA)
  UK Education and Research Networking Association (UKERNA)
  University of Leeds
  University of Oxford
  University of Warwick
  Welsh Office
  Virtual Precincts Ltd
  Visa International


© Parliamentary copyright 1996
Layout revised 24 October 1996