List of Lords of Appeal
House of Lords
Session 2001- 02
Publications on the internet
Minutes and Order Papers

The Judicial Work of the House of Lords


List of Lords of Appeal (as at 1 October 2002)

THE LORDS OF APPEAL IN ORDINARY ('Law Lords') in order of seniority:

    Bingham of Cornhill, L.
    Nicholls of Birkenhead, L.
    Steyn, L.
    Hoffmann, L.
    Hope of Craighead, L.
    Hutton, L.
    Saville of Newdigate, L.
    Hobhouse of Woodborough, L.
    Millett, L.
    Scott of Foscote, L.
    Rodger of Earlsferry, L.
    Walker of Estingthorpe, L


These are Lords who hold or have held high judicial office. Of these, the following are eligible to hear appeals.

+ former Lords of Appeal in Ordinary

The year when each peer attains the age of 75 is given in brackets after their name.

    +Browne-Wilkinson, L. (2005).
      Cameron of Lochbroom, L. (2006).
    +Clyde, L. (2007).
      Hardie, L. (2021).
      Irvine of Lairg, L. (Lord Chancellor).
    +Lloyd of Berwick, L. (2004).
      McCluskey, L. (2004).
      Mackay of Drumadoon, L. (2021).
    +Mustill, L. (2006).
    +Nolan, L. (2003).
    +Phillips of Worth Matravers, L. (Master of the Rolls) (2013).
    +Slynn of Hadley (2005)
    +Woolf, L. (Lord Chief Justice)(2006).

The following Lords of Appeal, having reached the age of 75, are disqualified from hearing appeals:

    +  Ackner, L.
    +  Bridge of Harwich, L.
    +  Brightman, L.
       Cooke of Thorndon, L.
        Donaldson of Lymington, L.
    +  Goff of Chieveley, L.
    +  Griffiths, L.
    +  Jauncey of Tullichettle, L.
    +  Lane, L.
    +  Mackay of Clashfern, L.
    +  Oliver of Aylmerton, L.
    +  Simon of Glaisdale, L.
    +  Scarman, L.
    +  Templeman, L.
October 2002


© Parliamentary copyright 2002
Revised 22 October 2002