House of Lords Journal 231 (Session 1997-98)

Previous Next

Friday 31 July 1998

The House met at eleven o’clock.

The following Lords Spiritual and Temporal were present:

Irvine of Lairg, L.
(Lord Chancellor)

Aberdare, L.
Ackner, L.
Addington, L.
Addison, V.
Ailsa, M.
Alexander of Tunis, E.
Allen of Abbeydale, L.
Allenby of Megiddo, V.
Alli, L.
Amos, B.
Ampthill, L.
Anelay of St. Johns, B.
Annaly, L.
Annan, L.
Astor of Hever, L.
Attlee, E.
Avebury, L.
Bach, L.
Baldwin of Bewdley, E.
Beaumont of Whitley, L.
Belhaven and Stenton, L.
Bellwin, L.
Beloff, L.
Berkeley, L.
Bethell, L.
Biddulph, L.
Blyth, L.
Borrie, L.
Boston of Faversham, L.
Braine of Wheatley, L.
Brightman, L.
Broadbridge, L.
Brooke of Alverthorpe, L.
Brooks of Tremorfa, L.
Bruce of Donington, L.
Burlison, L.
Burnham, L.
Buscombe, B.
Butterworth, L.
Byford, B.
Cadman, L.
Campbell of Alloway, L.
Campbell of Croy, L.
Carlisle, E.
Carmichael of Kelvingrove, L.
Carrick, E.
Carter, L.
Carver, L.
Chalfont, L.
Chalker of Wallasey, B.
Chichester, Bp.
Clancarty, E.
Clanwilliam, E.
Clement-Jones, L.
Clinton-Davis, L.
Cockfield, L.
Cocks of Hartcliffe, L.
Coleraine, L.
Colwyn, L.
Cooke of Thorndon, L.
Courtown, E.
Craigavon, V.
Dahrendorf, L.
Darcy de Knayth, B.
David, B.
Davidson, V.
Davies of Oldham, L.
Dean of Beswick, L.
Denbigh, E.
Denton of Wakefield, B.
Dholakia, L.
Dilhorne, V.
Dixon, L.
Dormand of Easington, L.
Dunrossil, V.
Eatwell, L.
Elibank, L.
Ellenborough, L.
Elles, B.
Elliott of Morpeth, L.
Elton, L.
Erroll, E.
Evans of Parkside, L.
Falkland, V.
Farrington of Ribbleton, B.
Fitt, L.
Flather, B.
Fookes, B.
Freyberg, L.
Gainford, L.
Gardner of Parkes, B.
Garel-Jones, L.
Geraint, L.
Gilbert, L.
Goudie, B.
Gould of Potternewton, B.
Grenfell, L.
Gretton, L.
Grey, E.
Hacking, L.
Halsbury, E.
Hanworth, V.
Harding of Petherton, L.
Hardy of Wath, L.
Harlech, L.
Harris of Greenwich, L.
Haskel, L.
Headfort, M.
Holderness, L.
Holme of Cheltenham, L.
HolmPatrick, L.
Hooper, B.
Hooson, L.
Howie of Troon, L.
Hughes, L.
Hughes of Woodside, L.
Hunt of Wirral, L.
Ironside, L.
Jacobs, L.
Janner of Braunstone, L.
Jenkins of Hillhead, L.
Kennet, L.
Kilbracken, L.
Kingsland, L.
Kinloss, Ly.
Kinnoull, E.
Kirkhill, L.
Laming, L.
Lauderdale, E.
Lawrence, L.
Layton, L.
Lindsey and Abingdon, E.
Long, V.
Longford, E.
Lucas of Chilworth, L.
Ludford, B.
Luke, L.
Lyell, L.
McCarthy, L.
McIntosh of Haringey, L.
Mackay of Ardbrecknish, L.

Page 1067


Volume 231      

Mackenzie of Framwellgate, L.
Mackie of Benshie, L.
MacLaurin of Knebworth, L.
McNair, L.
McNally, L.
Maddock, B.
Mancroft, L.
Marlesford, L.
Marsh, L.
Merlyn-Rees, L.
Mersey, V.
Meston, L.
Miller of Hendon, B.
Milner of Leeds, L.
Minto, E.
Mishcon, L.
Molloy, L.
Molyneaux of Killead, L.
Monkswell, L.
Monson, L.
Montgomery of Alamein, V.
Morris of Manchester, L.
Mountevans, L.
Moyne, L.
Moynihan, L.
Munster, E.
Murton of Lindisfarne, L.
Nelson, E.
Newall, L.
Nicholson of Winterbourne, B.
Noel-Buxton, L.
Norrie, L.
Northbourne, L.
Northesk, E.
Norton, L.
Oxfuird, V.
Park of Monmouth, B.
Paul, L.
Peston, L.
Pilkington of Oxenford, L.
Pitkeathley, B.
Plumb, L.
Ponsonby of Shulbrede, L.
Prys-Davies, L.
Quirk, L.
Ramsay of Cartvale, B.
Randall of St. Budeaux, L.
Rankeillour, L.
Rawlings, B.
Rea, L.
Renton, L.
Renwick, L.
Richard, L.
Roberts of Conwy, L.
Rowallan, L.
Ryder of Wensum, L.
St. John of Bletso, L.
Saltoun of Abernethy, Ly.
Sandberg, L.
Seccombe, B.
Shannon, E.
Shaughnessy, L.
Shore of Stepney, L.
Simon, V.
Simon of Glaisdale, L.
Skelmersdale, L.
Skidelsky, L.
Smith of Clifton, L.
Smith of Gilmorehill, B.
Soulsby of Swaffham Prior, L.
Steel of Aikwood, L.
Strabolgi, L.
Strafford, E.
Strathcarron, L.
Strathclyde, L.
Suffolk and Berkshire, E.
Swansea, L.
Swinfen, L.
Symons of Vernham Dean, B.
Taylor of Blackburn, L.
Taylor of Gryfe, L.
Taylor of Warwick, L.
Teynham, L.
Thomas of Swynnerton, L.
Thomas of Walliswood, B.
Thomson of Monifieth, L.
Thornton, B.
Tomlinson, L.
Tope, L.
Tordoff, L.
Trumpington, B.
Tweeddale, M.
Uddin, B.
Ullswater, V.
Vivian, L.
Waddington, L.
Wallace of Saltaire, L.
Watson of Invergowrie, L.
Weatherill, L.
Westbury, L.
Wharton, B.
Whitty, L.
Wilcox, B.
Williams of Crosby, B.
Williams of Elvel, L.
Williams of Mostyn, L.
Wise, L.
Wynford, L.

PRAYERS were read by the Lord Bishop of Chichester.


1.Command Paper—The following paper was presented to the House by command of Her Majesty and ordered to lie on the Table:
Local Government—Modernising Local Government in Wales: Government proposals.
2.Negative Instruments—The following instruments were laid before the House and ordered to lie on the Table:
1.School Standards and Framework Act 1988 (Education Action Zones) (Modification) Regulations 1998, laid under the School Standards and Framework Act 1998;
2.Education (Grants for Early Excellence Centres) (England) Regulations 1998, laid under the Education Act 1996;
3.Education (Inspectors of Schools in Wales) (No. 2) Order 1998, laid under the Schools Inspections Act 1996;
4. (i)European Communities (Designation) (No. 2) Order 1998—(1750)
(ii)Republic of Serbia (Prohibition on Investment) Regulations 1998—
laid under the European Communities Act 1972;
5.Superannuation (Admission to Schedule 1 to the Superannuation Act 1972) (No. 2) Order 1998, laid under the Superannuation Act 1972.
3.Papers not subject to parliamentary proceedings—The following papers were laid before the House and ordered to lie on the Table:
1.Report for 1997–98 of the British Board of Film Classification, laid under the Video Recordings Act 1984;
2.Report for 1997–98 of the Joint Nature Conservation Committee, laid under the Environmental Protection Act 1990.

Page 1068


Volume 231

Back to top

Public Business

4.Royal Assent—The Lord Chancellor notified the Queen’s Assent to the following Acts:
Finance Act
5.Parliamentary Office of Science and Technology (POST)—It was moved by the Chairman of Committees, on behalf of the Committee of Selection, that the Baroness Nicol be appointed to serve as a member of the Board of the Parliamentary Office of Science and Technology (POST) in the place of the Lord Renfrew of Kaimsthorn; the motion was agreed to.
6.Parliamentary Broadcasting Unit Limited (PARBUL)—It was moved by the Chairman of Committees, on behalf of the Committee of Selection, that the Lord Burnham be appointed to serve as a member of the Board of the Parliamentary Broadcasting Unit Limited (PARBUL) in the place of the Lord Chesham, and that the Lord Morris of Castle Morris be appointed to serve as a member of the Board; the motion was agreed to.
7.Regional Development Agencies Bill—It was moved by the Lord Whitty that it be an instruction to the Committee of the Whole House to whom the Regional Development Agencies Bill has been committed that they consider the bill in the following order:

Clause 1Clauses 21 to 23
Schedule 1 Schedule 6
Clause 2Clauses 24 to 32
Schedule 2 Schedule 7
Clauses 3 to 6Clauses 33 and 34
Schedule 3 Schedule 8
Clauses 7 to 19Clauses 35 and 36
Schedule 4 Schedule 9
Clause 20Clauses 37 to 44;
Schedule 5

the motion was agreed to.

8.Animals (Scientific Procedures) Act 1986 (Amendment) Regulations 1998—It was moved by the Lord Williams of Mostyn that the draft Regulations laid before the House on 25th June be approved; after debate, the motion was agreed to.
9.Northern Ireland Bill—A bill to make new provision for the government of Northern Ireland for the purpose of implementing the agreement reached at multi-party talks on Northern Ireland set out in Command Paper 3883 was brought from the Commons, read a first time and ordered to be printed. (HL Bill 152)
10.NATO Enlargement—It was moved by the Lord Gilbert that this House take note of NATO’s invitation to Hungary, the Czech Republic and Poland to join the Alliance; after debate, the motion was agreed to.

The House was adjourned at ten minutes before four o’clock
to Monday, 5th October next, half-past two o’clock.