Select Committee on Public Service Report


List of Witnesses who gave Evidence

The following witnesses gave evidence. Those marked * gave oral evidence.

*  Age Concern England

*  Andersen Consulting

*  The Lord Armstrong of Ilminster, GCB, CVO

  Sir Peter Baldwin, KCB

  Dr Peter Barberis, Manchester Metropolitan University

  Sir Brian Barder, KCMG

  The Lord Beloff, FBA

*  Mr Michael Bichard, Department for Education and Employment

*  Professor Vernon Bogdanor, Brasenose College, Oxford

*  Dame Ann Bowtell, DCB, Department of Social Security

*  Dame Gillian Brown, DCVO, CMG

*  Sir Terence Burns, GCB and Mr Nicholas Holgate, HM Treasury

*  Sir Robin Butler, GCB, CVO, Secretary of the Cabinet and Head of the Home Civil Service

  Sir Peter Carey, GCB

*  Miss Ann Chant, CB, Child Support Agency

*  Child Poverty Action Group

*  Civil and Public Services Association

*  The Right Honourable Dr David Clark, MP, Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster and Minister for Public Service, and Miss Eleanor Goodison, Office of Public Service

  Professor Michael Clarke, School of Public Policy

  Comptroller and Auditor General

*  Council of Civil Service Unions

  Mr DT Donovan and Ms SL Donovan

  Mr David Faulkner, Fellow, St. John's College, Oxford

*  Sir Christopher Foster

*  Mr Anthony Hammond, CB, QC, HM Procurator General and Treasury Solicitor, and Mr Tony Hollis, Treasury Solicitor's Department

*  Professor Peter Hennessy, Queen Mary and Westfield College, London

  The Baroness Hollis of Heigham, Labour Party

*  Sir Peter Kemp, KCB

  The Lord Kennet

  Mr Derek Lewis

  Miss Elizabeth Lynne, former MP, Liberal Democrat Party

*  Mr Robin Mountfield, CB, Office of Public Service

*  The Right Honourable The Lord Nolan and Mr. Martin Le Jeune, Committee on Standards in Public Life

*  The Right Honourable The Lord MacKay of Ardbrecknish

*  Professor Iain McLean and Mr Christopher Clifford, Nuffield College, Oxford

  The Right Honourable The Lord Moore of Wolvercote GCB GCVO CMG QSO

*  National Association of Citizens Advice Bureaux

  Dr Barry O'Toole, University of Glasgow

*  Sir Michael Partridge, KCB

*  Prison Officers' Association

  Prison Reform Trust

  Recruitment and Assessment Services

*  Sir William Reid, KCB, former Parliamentary Commissioner for Administration (Ombudsman)

*  Dr David Richards, Birmingham University

*  Mr Richard Tilt, Director General, Mr Hugh Taylor and Mr Syd Norris, HM Prison Service

*  Mr Michael Scholar, Department of Trade and Industry

*  Dr Martin J Smith, University of Sheffield

  Dr Rosamund M Thomas, Centre for Business and Public Sector Ethics

*  Mr Andrew Turnbull, CB, CVO, Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions

  Sir Geoffrey Wardale, KCB

*  Sir Richard Wilson, KCB, Home Office

previous page contents next page

House of Lords home page Parliament home page House of Commons home page search page enquiries

© Parliamentary copyright 1998