Select Committee on Science and Technology Seventh Report


ABPI Association of the British Pharmaceutical Industry
ACNFP UK Advisory Committee on Novel Foods and Processes
AIDS Acquired immune-deficiency syndrome
AMM UK Association of Medical Microbiologists
APUA Alliance for the Prudent Use of Antibiotics
ARM WHO Antimicrobial Resistance Monitoring programme
BBSRC UK Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council
BMA British Medical Association
BPMF British Poultry Meat Federation
BSAC British Society for Antimicrobial Chemotherapy
CCDC Consultant in Communicable Disease Control
CDC US Centers for Communicable Disease Control and Prevention
CDSC UK Communicable Disease Surveillance Centre
CVL UK Central Veterinary Laboratory
DHUK Department of Health
DOT Directly-observed therapy
EMC WHO Division of Emerging and other Communicable Diseases Surveillance and Control
EUEuropean Union
FAO Food and Agriculture Organization
FDA US Food and Drug Administration
FEDESA Fédération Européenne de la Santé Animale
FSIS US Food Safety Inspection Service
GMO Genetically modified organism
GPGeneral practitioner (family doctor)
HACCP Hazard Analysis at Critical Control Points
HIV Human immune-deficiency virus
HMO Health management organisation
ICARE Intensive Care Antibiotic Resistance Epidemiology
ICNA UK Infection Control Nurses Association
ITInformation technology
MAFF UK Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food
MDR-TB Multi-drug resistant tuberculosis
MRC UK Medical Research Council
MRSA Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus
NCCLS US National Committee for Clinical Laboratory Standards
NHS UK National Health Service
NIAID US National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases
NIBSC UK National Institute for Biological Standards and Control
NIH US National Institutes of Health
NOAH UK National Office of Animal Health Ltd
NNIS US National Nosocomial Infections Surveillance
OST UK Office of Science and Technology
OSTP US Office of Science and Technology Policy
OTC Over the counter
PhRMA Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America
PHLS UK Public Health Laboratory Service
POM Prescription-only medicine
POST Parliamentary Office of Science and Technology
PPA UK Prescription Pricing Authority
ppm Parts per million
PRP Penicillin-resistant Streptococcus pneumoniae
RCGP Royal College of General Practitioners
SKB SmithKline Beecham
UKASTA UK Agricultural Supply Trade Association
VISA Vancomycin intermediate-resistant Staphylococcus aureus
VLA UK Veterinary Laboratories Agency
VMD UK Veterinary Medicines Directorate
VRE Vancomycin-resistant enterococcus
VRSA Vancomycin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus
WHO World Health Organization

previous page contents

House of Lords home page Parliament home page House of Commons home page search page enquiries

© Parliamentary copyright 1998