House of Lords Journal 232 (Session 1998-99)

Previous Next

Friday 18 June 1999

The House met at eleven o’clock.

The following Lords Spiritual and Temporal were present:

Irvine of Lairg, L.
(Lord Chancellor)

Aberdare, L.
Ackner, L.
Acton, L.
Addington, L.
Addison, V.
Ahmed, L.
Alexander of Tunis, E.
Amos, B.
Ampthill, L.
Anelay of St. Johns, B.
Annaly, L.
Annan, L.
Attlee, E.
Baldwin of Bewdley, E.
Balfour of Inchrye, L.
Bassam of Brighton, L.
Belhaven and Stenton, L.
Bethell, L.
Biddulph, L.
Biffen, L.
Blatch, B.
Bledisloe, V.
Blyth, L.
Borrie, L.
Boston of Faversham, L.
Brabazon of Tara, L.
Brightman, L.
Brookman, L.
Brooks of Tremorfa, L.
Brougham and Vaux, L.
Bruce of Donington, L.
Burns, L.
Buscombe, B.
Cadman, L.
Caithness, E.
Calverley, L.
Campbell of Alloway, L.
Campbell of Croy, L.
Carlisle, E.
Carter, L.
Clancarty, E.
Clarke of Hampstead, L.
Clement-Jones, L.
Clinton-Davis, L.
Cocks of Hartcliffe, L.
Coleraine, L.
Colwyn, L.
Craigavon, V.
Crawley, B.
Dartmouth, E.
Davidson, V.
Davies of Coity, L.
Davies of Oldham, L.
Denbigh, E.

Page 489


Volume 232      

Denton of Wakefield, B.
Dholakia, L.
Eames, L.
Eatwell, L.
Eccles, V.
Elles, B.
Elton, L.
Evans of Parkside, L.
Falconer of Thoroton, L.
Falkland, V.
Fitt, L.
Gage, V.
Gainford, L.
Gardner of Parkes, B.
Geddes, L.
Geraint, L.
Gladwin of Clee, L.
Glanusk, L.
Glentoran, L.
Goodhart, L.
Gormanston, V.
Goudie, B.
Gould of Potternewton, B.
Graham of Edmonton, L.
Grantchester, L.
Gray, L.
Gray of Contin, L.
Greenway, L.
Grenfell, L.
Gretton, L.
Grey, E.
Hacking, L.
Halsbury, E.
Harding of Petherton, L.
Harris of Greenwich, L.
Harris of Haringey, L.
Haskel, L.
Hayhoe, L.
Healey, L.
Hereford, Bp.
HolmPatrick, L.
Hooper, B.
Hope of Craighead, L.
Howie of Troon, L.
Hoyle, L.
Hughes, L.
Hughes of Woodside, L.
Hunt of Wirral, L.
Inglewood, L.
Ironside, L.
Janner of Braunstone, L.
Kennet, L.
Kirkhill, L.
Lane, L.
Lauderdale, E.
Lawson of Blaby, L.
Layton, L.
Leathers, V.
Leigh, L.
Liverpool, E.
Longford, E.
Lucas of Chilworth, L.
Luke, L.
Lyell, L.
McColl of Dulwich, L.
Macdonald of Tradeston, L.
McIntosh of Haringey, L.
Mackenzie of Framwellgate, L.
McNair, L.
McNally, L.
Marsh, L.
Miller of Chilthorne Domer, B.
Miller of Hendon, B.
Milner of Leeds, L.
Mishcon, L.
Molloy, L.
Monkswell, L.
Monson, L.
Montgomery of Alamein, V.
Morris, L.
Morris of Manchester, L.
Mountevans, L.
Moynihan, L.
Munster, E.
Murton of Lindisfarne, L.
Napier and Ettrick, L.
Napier of Magdâla, L.
Nelson, E.
Noel-Buxton, L.
Norrie, L.
Northbrook, L.
Northesk, E.
Nunburnholme, L.
O’Cathain, B.
Oxford, Bp.
Paul, L.
Pearson of Rannoch, L.
Peel, E.
Peston, L.
Pike, B.
Ponsonby of Shulbrede, L.
Poole, L.
Quirk, L.
Ramsay of Cartvale, B.
Randall of St. Budeaux, L.
Rawlings, B.
Rea, L.
Redesdale, L.
Rees, L.
Renton, L.
Renwick, L.
Richard, L.
Ripon, Bp.
Ryder of Wensum, L.
Saatchi, L.
St. John of Bletso, L.
St. John of Fawsley, L.
Saltoun of Abernethy, Ly.
Sawyer, L.
Seccombe, B.
Selborne, E.
Shannon, E.
Shaughnessy, L.
Shaw of Northstead, L.
Shore of Stepney, L.
Shrewsbury, E.
Simon, V.
Simon of Glaisdale, L.
Skelmersdale, L.
Slynn of Hadley, L.
Stewartby, L.
Stoddart of Swindon, L.
Strabolgi, L.
Strathclyde, L.
Swansea, L.
Swinfen, L.
Symons of Vernham Dean, B.
Taverne, L.
Taylor of Blackburn, L.
Teviot, L.
Teynham, L.
Thomson of Monifieth, L.
Thornton, B.
Tordoff, L.
Trenchard, V.
Tryon, L.
Tweeddale, M.
Uddin, B.
Waddington, L.
Walker of Doncaster, L.
Walton of Detchant, L.
Warnock, B.
Westbury, L.
Whitty, L.
Wigoder, L.
Wilberforce, L.
Williams of Elvel, L.
Willoughby de Broke, L.
Wise, L.
Wright of Richmond, L.

PRAYERS were read by the Lord Bishop of Ripon.


1.Command Paper—The following paper was presented to the House by command of Her Majesty and ordered to lie on the Table:

Armed Forces—Convention between the United Kingdom, France, Germany and Italy on the Establishment of the Organisation for Joint Armament Cooperation (Organisation Conjointe de Coopèration en matière d’Armement) (OCCAR), together with an explanatory memorandum.


Page 490


Volume 232

Back to top

2.Negative Instruments—The following instruments were laid before the House and ordered to lie on the Table:
1.M6 Motorway (Junction 38 Slip Roads) (Speed Limit) Regulations 1999, laid under the Road Traffic Regulation Act 1984;
2.Town and Country Planning (General Permitted Development) (Amendment) Order 1999, laid under the Town and Country Planning Act 1990.
3.Paper not subject to parliamentary proceedings—The following paper was laid before the House and ordered to lie on the Table:

Accounts for 1998 of the General Medical Council, laid under the Medical Act 1983.

Public Business

4.Immigration and Asylum Bill—It was ordered that the Explanatory Notes relating to the bill be printed. (HL Bill 71–EN)
5.Genetically Modified Crops Bill [HL]—It was moved by the Baroness Miller of Hendon that the bill be now read a second time; after debate, the motion was agreed to and the bill was committed to a Committee of the Whole House.
6.European Community Legislation (Impact) Bill [HL]—It was moved by the Lord Willoughby de Broke that the bill be now read a second time; after debate, the motion was agreed to and the bill was committed to a Committee of the Whole House.
7.European Tax Harmonisation (Veto) Bill [HL]—It was moved by the Lord Waddington that the bill be now read a second time; after debate, the motion was agreed to and the bill was committed to a Committee of the Whole House.
8.Comitology (ECC Report)—It was moved by the Lord Hope of Craighead that this House take note of the Report of the European Communities Committee on Delegation of Powers to the Commission: Reforming Comitology (3rd Report, HL Paper 23); after debate, the motion was agreed to.

The House was adjourned at twenty-nine minutes past five o’clock
to Monday next, half-past two o’clock.