Select Committee on European Communities Second Report


Sub-Committee D (Agriculture, Fisheries and Food)

    The members of the Sub-Committee which conducted this inquiry were:

    L. Gallacher
    L. Gisborough
    L. Grantchester
    L. Jopling
    L. Moran
    L. Rathcavan
    L. Reay (Chairman)
    L. Redesdale
    B. Robson of Kiddington
    L. Wade of Chorlton
    L. Willoughby de Broke
    B. Young of Old Scone

    Baroness Wilcox, a member of Sub-Committee C (Environment, Public Health and Consumer Protection), also contributed to this inquiry and report.

    The Sub-Committee had as its Specialist Adviser Dr Julian Kinderlerer, Assistant Director, Sheffield Institute of Biotechnological Law and Ethics, Department of Molecular Biology and Biotechnology, University of Sheffield.

    Members of the Sub-Committee declared the following interests in relation to this inquiry:

L. Gisborough—Arable and sheep farmer
L. Grantchester—Dairy farmer; member, National Farmers' Union of England and Wales
L. Jopling—Farmer; member, National Farmers' Union of England and Wales; shareholder in Zeneca
L. Moran—Lady Moran is a hill farmer (pedigree cattle)
L. Rathcavan—Hill farmer
L. Reay—Farmer, predominantly grassland
L. Redesdale—Owner of two hill farms
L. Wade of Chorlton—Farmer (William Wild (Mollington) Ltd); director, Murray Vernon Holdings Ltd, traders in milk, fish and meat products
L. Willoughby de Broke—Arable and grassland farmer; chairman, St Martin's Magazines, publishers of Country Illustrated; member, National Farmers' Union of England and Wales
B. Young of Old Scone—Chairman, English Nature; member, advisory panel to the Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food
B. Wilcox—President, National Federation of Consumer Groups; member, Institute of Food Research

    No member of the Sub-Committee currently uses or is involved in testing modern genetically modified crops or animals in agriculture.

previous page contents next page

House of Lords home page Parliament home page House of Commons home page search page enquiries

© Parliamentary copyright 1999