Select Committee on European Communities Second Report



The following witnesses gave evidence. Those marked * gave oral evidence.

   American Soybean Association
   Austrian Embassy
* Professor Janet Bainbridge, Director of the School of Science and Technology, University of Teesside and
        chairman of the advisory committee on novel foods and processes (ACNFP)
* Professor John Beringer, Dean of Science, University of Bristol and chairman of the advisory committee
        on releases into the environment (ACRE)
* Professor Derek Burke, former Vice-Chancellor, University of East Anglia and former chairman of the advisory
        committee on novel foods and processes (ACNFP)
   British Society of Plant Breeders Limited
   Canadian High Commission
   Mr Mark Cantley
* Consumers' Association
   Consumers in Europe Group
   Co-operative Wholesale Society
   Professor John Durant, Professor of Public Understanding of Science, Imperial College, University of London
        and Assistant Director, National Museum of Science and Industry
* Food and Drink Federation
   Dr Chris Gliddon, School of Biological Sciences, University of Wales
* Green Alliance
* Greenpeace UK
   Professor Barrie Gunter, Department of Journalism Studies, University of Sheffield
   Health and Safety Executive
* Her Majesty's Government
   Horticulture Research International
   Embassy of the Republic of Hungary
* Iceland Group plc
   Institute of Arable Crop Research
   Institute of Grassland and Environmental Research
* Professor Philip James and Dr Andrew Chesson, Rowett Research Institute, Aberdeen
   Embassy of Japan
   John Innes Centre
   LGC Limited
* Monsanto Services International S.A./N.V.
* National Farmers' Union of England and Wales
   National Office of Animal Health Limited
   Nestlé UK Limited
   Novartis UK Ltd
   Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
   Provision Trade Federation
   Royal Netherlands Embassy
   Royal Society for the Protection of Birds
   J Sainsbury plc
* Safeway Stores plc
   Scotch Whisky Association
   Soil Association
   Spanish Embassy
   Statutory Nature Conservation Agencies (English Nature, Scottish Natural Heritage, the Countryside Council
        for Wales and the Joint Nature Conservation Committee)
   Unilever plc
* United Biscuits (UK) Limited
   United Nations Industrial Development Organization
* United States Department of Agriculture
* Professor Mark Williamson, Professor Emeritus of Biology, University of York
   Dr René von Schomberg
* Zeneca Agrochemicals and Zeneca Plant Science

The Sub-Committee visited the John Innes Research Institute at Norwich and would like to express its profound gratitude to the staff. The working party on genetic modification of the Nuffield Council on Bioethics assisted the Sub-Committee in its deliberations as did the European Commission.

previous page contents next page

House of Lords home page Parliament home page House of Commons home page search page enquiries

© Parliamentary copyright 1999