Select Committee on European Communities Eighth Report


Sub-Committee D (Agriculture, Fisheries and Food)

The members of the Sub-Committee are:

    Lord Christopher

    Lord Gisborough

    Lord Grantchester

    Lord Jopling

    Baroness Miller of Chilthorne Domer

    Lord Moran

    Lord Rathcavan

    Lord Reay (Chairman)

    Lord Redesdale

    Lord Wade of Chorlton

    Lord Willoughby de Broke

    Baroness Young of Old Scone

The Sub-Committee had as its Specialist Adviser Professor John Marsh, retired professor and former head of Centre for Agricultural Strategy, University of Reading; Chairman of Agricultural Wages Board.

Members of the Sub-Committee declared the following interests in relation to this enquiry:
Lord Christopher— Vice-President, Oxted and Edenbridge Agricultural Society (Honorary)
Lord Gisborough—Farmer
Lord Grantchester—Dairy farmer; Chairman of a producer organisation which markets milk
Lord Jopling—Farmer; member of National Farmers' Union of England and Wales; shareholder in Zeneca
Baroness Miller of Chilthorne Domer— County Councillor for Somerset
Lord Moran—Lady Moran has a hill farm which is included in the voluntary scheme for the Radnor Environmentally Sensitive Area (ESA)
Lord Rathcavan—Hill farmer
Lord Reay—Farmer
Lord Redesdale—Owner of two hill farms
Lord Wade of Chorlton—Farmer; Director of food trading company; commercial consultant to Horticultural Research International
Lord Willoughby de Broke—Arable and grassland farmer; Chairman, St Martin's Magazines, publishers of Country Illustrated; member, National Farmers' Union of England and Wales; member of the Country Landowners' Association
Baroness Young of Old Scone—Chairman, English Nature

previous page contents next page

House of Lords home page Parliament home page House of Commons home page search page enquiries

© Parliamentary copyright 1999