Select Committee on Monetary Policy Committee of the Bank of England First Report


List of Witnesses

The following witnesses gave oral evidence. Those marked * also gave written evidence.

  Bank of England: The Rt Hon Sir Edward George, Governor[47], Mr Mervyn King, Deputy Governor for Monetary Policy, Mr David Clementi, Deputy Governor, Financial Stability, Mr Ian Plenderleith, Executive Director, Financial Markets and Operations, Mr John Vickers, Executive Director, Monetary Analysis, Mr Charlie Bean, Executive Director, Monetary Analysis. External MPC Members, Mr Christopher J Allsopp, Professor Willem Buiter, Professor Charles Goodhart, Dr DeAnne Julius, Professor Stephen Nickell, Dr Sushil Wadhwani.

  Mr P Aylett: Press Secretary Committee on Standards in Public Life

*  Dr N A Boucher, Director, Planning and Communicatons, Glynwed International plc

Dr Donald Brash, Governor, Reserve Bank of New Zealand

  Mr Larry Elliott, The Guardian

  Mr William Keegan, The Observer

*  Sir David Lees, Chairman, Tate & Lyle plc

  Mr Oliver Letwin MP

  Sir George Mathewson, Royal Bank of Scotland

  The Rt Hon The Lord Nolan

  Mr Paul Ormerod

  The Rt Hon Michael Portillo MP, Shadow Chancellor of the Exchequer

  Sir Ian Robinson, Scottish Power

  Professor Robert Rowthorn, Professor of Economics, Cambridge University

  Ms Anne Segall, The Daily Telegraph

  Mr Terry Scuoler, Managing Director, Ferranti Technologies Ltd

  Mr Martin Temple, Director General, Engineering Employers Federation

*  Confederation of British Industry: Ms Kate Barker, Chief Economist and Mr Doug Godden, Head of Economic Policy and Enterprise

*  The Office for National Statistics: Mr Len Cook, National Statistician, Mr David Fenwick Head of Consumer Prices and General Inflation Division and Ms Amanda Rowlatt, Economic Assessment and Strategy Division

Trades Union Congress: Mr John Monks, General Secretary, Mr David Coats, Head of Economic and Social Affairs, Mr Ian Brinkley, Senior Economist

  HM Treasury: The Rt Hon Gordon Brown MP, Chancellor of the Exchequer, Sir Andrew

Turnbull KCB CVO, Permanent Secretary, Mr Gus O'Donnell, Managing Director, Macroeconomic Policy and International Finance, Mr Ed Balls, Chief Economic Adviser.

47   The Governor of the Bank of England was knighted during the course of our inquiry. Back

previous page contents next page

House of Lords home page Parliament home page House of Commons home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2001