Select Committee on Monetary Policy Committee of the Bank of England Report


List of Witnesses

The following witnesses gave evidence. Those marked * gave both oral and written evidence; those marked ** gave oral evidence only.
**Bank of England: The Rt Hon Eddie George, Governor, Mr Mervyn King, Deputy Governor, Mr John Vickers, Executive Director and Chief Economist, Professor Charles Goodhart, external MPC member, Mr David Clementi, Deputy Governor, Financial Stability, Mr Ian Plenderleith, Executive Director, Financial Market Operations, Dr Deanne Julius, external MPC member, Court of Directors: Dame Sheila Masters DBE, Mr Christopher J Allsopp, Mr Howard J Davies, Sheila M McKechnie OBE, Sir Colin Southgate
**Banque de France: M Jean-Claude Trichet, Gouverneur and M Guy Pontet, Directeur de Cabinet
*Professor Charles Bean
*Mr Roger Bootle, Professor Patrick Minford and Professor Tim Congdon
*British Chambers of Commerce: Dr Ian Peters, Deputy Director General, Mr Ian Fletcher, Principal Economic Adviser and Mr Andrew Kent (Chief Executive, Port of Southampton).
*British Retail Consortium: Ms Bridget Rosewell, Economic Adviser, and Mr Ian Livingston (Finance Director, Dixons Group plc)
*British Steel plc: Sir Brian Moffat, Chairman, and Mr Richard Barber, International and Commercial Campaign for Stable Currencies Centre for Economics and Business Research Limited
**The Rt Hon Kenneth Clarke QC MP
*Confederation of British Industry: Mr J Adair Turner, Director General, and Ms Kate Barker, Chief Economist
*Professor the Lord Desai
**Deutsche Bundesbank: Professor Dr Hermann Remsperger, Member of the Directorate, and Dr König, Chief Economist
*Mr James Dyson CBE, Dyson Appliances Limited Economic Research Council
*European Central Bank: Dr Willem F Duisenberg, and Professor Otmar Issing, Member of the Executive Board
Mr S M Hardy, Chairman, Yorkshire Ridings Branch, Institute of Directors Mr David Heathfield
*ICI Plc: Sir Ronald Hampel[31] and Mr Michael Brech, Head Strategic Analysis and Support and Mr Anthony Weale, Group Government Relations Manager
*Lloyds TSB Group plc: Sir Brian Pitman, Chairman, and Mr Patrick Foley, Director of Group Economic Research
*Dr Gerard Lyons, DKB International
The Lord Marshall of Knightsbridge on behalf of British Airways plc
MSF Union
National Farmers' Union
North East Regional Development Agency
North West Development Agency
*Office for National Statistics: Dr Tim Holt, Director, Mr David Fenwick, Director of
Consumer Prices and General Inflation Division, and Mr Ian Cope, Head of Producer Price Index Development
Mr David W Robertson
Mr James Robertson
The Lord Simpson of Dunkeld
Mr Nils Taube, Taube Hodson Stonex Partners Limited
*Trades Union Congress: Mr John Monks, General Secretary, Mr Bill Callaghan, Chief
Economist and Mr Ian Brinkley, Senior Economist
*HM Treasury: The Rt Hon Gordon Brown MP, Chancellor of the Exchequer, Sir Andrew
Turnbull KCB CVO, Permanent Secretary, Mr Gus O'Donnell, Director, Macroeconomic Policy and Prospects and Head of the Government Economic Service, Mr Ed Balls, Specialist Adviser, Mr Joe Grice, Deputy Director, Macroeconomic Policy and Prospects Directorate, Mr Andrew Kilpatrick, Head of Fiscal and Macroeconomic Policy Team
UK Steel Association
*Mr Martin Weale, National Institute of Economic and Social Research
Mr David Webster

31   At the time of giving oral evidence, Sir Ronald Hampel had retired from ICI Plc. Back

previous page contents next page

House of Lords home page Parliament home page House of Commons home page search page enquiries

© Parliamentary copyright 1999