European Parliamentary Elections Bill [H.L.] - continued        House of Lords

back to previous text
  S C H E D U L E S

Electoral regions
     1. The electoral regions for England are those listed in the Table below.
     2. - (1) A reference in the Table to a local government or administrative area is a reference to that area as it is for the time being.
      (2) But where an area specified in column (2) of the Table is altered, the alteration does not have effect for the purposes of this Act until the first general election of MEPs at which the poll in the United Kingdom takes place after the alteration comes into force for all other purposes.
Number of MEPs for each region
     3. The number of MEPs to be elected for each electoral region in England is the number specified in column (3) of the Table.
     4. - (1) Each registration officer is to notify the Secretary of State, by 28th May in each pre-election year, of the number of persons whose names appear, on 1st May in that year, in any relevant register maintained by him.
      (2) As soon as possible after 1st May in each pre-election year the Secretary of State must-
    (a) consider, in relation to each electoral region in England, the number of persons whose names appear on that date in (or in part of) any relevant register which relates to the region,
    (b) consider whether the ratio of such persons to MEPs is as nearly as possible the same for every such region, and
    (c) make by order such amendments of column (3) of the Table as he considers necessary to ensure that result.
      (3) For the purposes of sub-paragraphs (1) and (2) there is to be disregarded any person who-
    (a) is registered only for the purposes of local government elections, and
    (b) is a citizen of the European Union but not a Commonwealth citizen or a citizen of the Republic of Ireland.
      (4) An order under sub-paragraph (2) must not alter the total number of MEPs to be elected for the electoral regions in England.
      (5) In this paragraph "pre-election year" means any year after 2002 which immediately precedes a year in which general elections would be held in accordance with Article 10(2) of the Act annexed to Council Decision 76/787.
      (6) For the purposes of this paragraph the relevant registers are-
    (a) a register of parliamentary electors;
    (b) a register of local government electors;
    (c) a register of peers maintained under section 3 of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (peers resident outside the United Kingdom);
    (d) a register maintained under regulation 9 of the European Parliamentary Elections (Changes to the Franchise and Qualification of Representatives) Regulations 1994 (citizens of the European Union other than Commonwealth and Republic of Ireland citizens).
Name of region
Area included
Number of MEPs
East Midlands
County of Derby
County of Derbyshire
County of Leicester
County of Leicestershire
County of Lincolnshire
County of Northamptonshire
County of Nottingham
County of Nottinghamshire
County of Rutland
County of Bedfordshire
County of Cambridgeshire
County of Essex
County of Hertfordshire
County of Luton
County of Norfolk
County of Peterborough
County of Southend-on-Sea
County of Suffolk
County of Thurrock
Greater London
North East
County of Darlington
County of Durham
County of Hartlepool
County of Middlesbrough
County of Northumberland
County of Redcar and Cleveland
County of Stockton-on-Tees
County of Tyne and Wear
North West
County of Blackburn with Darwen
County of Blackpool
County of Cheshire
County of Cumbria
County of Greater Manchester
County of Halton
County of Lancashire
County of Merseyside
County of Warrington
South East
County of Berkshire
County of Brighton and Hove
County of Buckinghamshire
County of East Sussex
County of Hampshire
County of Isle of Wight
County of Kent
County of the Medway Towns
County of Milton Keynes
County of Oxfordshire
County of Portsmouth
County of Southampton
County of Surrey
County of West Sussex
South West
County of Bath and North East Somerset
County of Bournemouth
County of the City of Bristol
County of Cornwall
County of Devon
County of Dorset
County of Gloucestershire
County of North Somerset
County of Plymouth
County of Poole
County of Somerset
County of South Gloucestershire
County of Swindon
County of Torbay
County of Wiltshire
Isles of Scilly
West Midlands
County of Herefordshire
County of Shropshire
County of Staffordshire
County of Stoke-on-Trent
County of Telford and Wrekin
County of Warwickshire
County of West Midlands
County of Worcestershire
Yorkshire and the Humber
County of the City of Kingston upon Hull
County of the East Riding of Yorkshire
County of North East Lincolnshire
County of North Lincolnshire
County of North Yorkshire
County of South Yorkshire
County of West Yorkshire
County of York
previous section contents continue
House of Lords home page Houses of Parliament home page House of Commons home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2000
Prepared 24 May 2000