Select Committee on European Union Seventh Report


ACNFPUK Advisory Committee on Novel Foods and Processes
ANZFAAustralia-New Zealand Food Authority
BBSRCBiotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council
BEUCBureau Européen des Unions de Consommateurs (European Consumers'Organisation)
BMABritish Medical Association
BRCBritish Retail Consortium
BSEBovine spongiform encephalopathy ("mad cow disease")
CAConsumers' Association
CAPCommon Agricultural Policy
CCFRACampden and Chorleywood Food Research Association
CDCUS Centers for Disease Control
CJDCreutzfeld-Jakob disease
CEGConsumers in Europe Group
Codex AlimentariusSee paragraph 34 and box
COGECAGeneral Committee for Agricultural Co-operation in the EU
ComitologySee footnote to paragraph 22
COPACommittee of Agricultural Organisations in the European Community
DoHDepartment of Health
DNADeoxyribonucleic acid
DTIDepartment of Trade and Industry
ECEuropean Community
EFAEuropean Food Authority
EMEAEuropean Agency for the Evaluation of Medicinal Products
EUEuropean Union
FACUK Food Advisory Committee
FAOUnited Nations Food and Agriculture Organisation
FDAUnited States Food and Drugs Administration
FDFFood and Drink Federation
FSAUK Food Standards Agency
FVOFood and Veterinary Office, DG SANCO (see paragraph 100)
GMGenetically modified
GMO(s)Genetically modified organism(s)
IFRInstitute of Food Research, BBSRC
IPMSInstitution of Professionals, Managers and Specialists
James et al ReportSee paragraph 6
JFSSGJoint Food Safety and Standards Group of the Department of Health and MAFF
(now embodied in the UK Food Standards Agency)
JRCEuropean Commission Joint Research Centre (see paragraph 74)
LACOTSLocal Authorities' Co-ordinating Body on Food and Trading Standards
LGALocal Government Association
MAFFMinistry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food
NFUNational Farmers' Union (of England and Wales)
NGONon-governmental organisation
OECDOrganisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
OLAFEuropean Anti-Fraud Office (Office de lutte antifraude)
Rapid Alert System     See footnote to paragraph 3
SACScottish Agricultural College
Safeguard measureSee footnote to paragraph 5
SANCOThe European Commission's Health and Consumer Protection Directorate-General (Direction Génerale de la Santé et de la Protection des Consommateurs), formerly known as DG XXIV
SCOOPThe Programme of Scientific Co-operation between Member States and the European Commision's Scientific Committees
SEACUK Spongiform Encephalopathy Advisory Committee
UHTUltra-high temperature
WHOWorld Health Organisation
WTOWorld Trade Organisation

previous page contents next page

House of Lords home page Parliament home page House of Commons home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2000