Select Committee on Science and Technology Fourth Report



The following witnesses gave evidence. Those marked · gave oral evidence. Those marked E participated in the Seminar at Imperial College on 24 January (see Appendix 4). Those marked v were involved in a visit to Hinxton Genome Campus on 31 January (see Appendix 5). The mark † indicates that the evidence is not printed but is available for inspection at the House of Lords Record Office (telephone 0207 219 5316).

  ·  Academy of Medical Sciences (represented in oral evidence by Professor John Bell)

     Acute Coronary Event DNA Library (ADLIB) Project

     Association of Chief Police Officers (Crime Committee)

     Association of Chief Police Officers in Scotland

   ·  AstraZeneca (represented in oral evidence by Dr Kevin Cheeseman)

     Avon Longitudinal Study of Parents and Children

   E  Dr Paul Aylin, Imperial College, London

   ·  Professor John Bell, University of Oxford (in his oral evidence, representing the Academy of Medical Sciences)

     Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council

   v  Professor Martin Bobrow, Cambridge University

   v  Professor Allan Bradley, Director of the Sanger Centre

     British Embassy, Tokyo (Science and Technology Section)

     British Embassy, Washington (Science and Technology Section)

     British Embassy, Paris (Science and Technology Section)

     British Heart Foundation

   v  Dr Graham Cameron and Professor Michael Ashburner (Joint Heads of the European Bioinformatics Institute, although their written evidence was submitted on a personal basis)

     Cancer Research Campaign

   ·  Professor Ruth Chadwick, Lancaster University

     Child Support Agency

   ·  Department of Health (represented in oral evidence by Professor Sir John Pattison, Mr Philip Walker and Dr Peter Drury)

     European Agency for the Evaluation of Medicinal Products

   ·  Forensic Science Service (represented in oral evidence by Dr Bob Bramley and Dr David Werrett)

   E  Dr John Fox, Director of Statistics, Department of Health

   E  Professor David Forman, University of Leeds

   ·  General Medical Council (represented in oral evidence by Professor Hilary Thomas, University of Surrey, and Ms Jane O'Brien)

     GenEthics News

   ·  GlaxoSmithKline - formerly Glaxo Wellcome and SmithKline Beecham (represented in oral evidence by Dr Allen Roses)

   E  Professor Carole Goble, University of Manchester

   E  Dr Peter Goldblatt, Chief Medical Statistician, Office for National Statistics

   ·  Home Office Policing and Crime Reduction Group (represented in oral evidence by Dr Jill Tan)

     Human Fertilisation & Embryology Authority

     Imperial Cancer Research Fund

   E  Dr Lars Järup, Imperial College, London

   †  Mr R A C Ker and Mr J Storry

     Laboratory of the Government Chemist and University Diagnostics Ltd

     Lilly UK

     Dr Paul Martin

   ·  Medical Research Council (represented in oral evidence by Professor Sir George Radda and Dr Frances Rawle)

     Nuffield Council on Bioethics

   ·  Baroness O'Neill of Bengarve

     Office of the Data Protection Commissioner

     Parliamentary Office of Science and Technology

   E  Professor Jørgen Olsen, Danish Institute of Cancer Epidemiology

     Oxagen Ltd

   ·  Pfizer (represented in oral evidence by Dr Aidan Power)

     Public Health Genetics Network Executive Group

   E  Professor Ian Purves, University of Newcastle

     Roche Products Ltd

     Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists

     Royal Society of Edinburgh

     Sanger Centre

     Scottish Executive Health Department

   E  Dr Mary Smalls, Information and Statistics Division, Scottish Health Service

   v  Sir John Sulston, Founder Director of the Sanger Centre

     UK Neonatal Screening Laboratories Network

   ·  The Wellcome Trust (represented in oral evidence by Dr T Michael Dexter and Dr Alan Doyle)

previous page contents next page

House of Lords home page Parliament home page House of Commons home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2001