Select Committee on Animals In Scientific Procedures Report


Membership and Declarations of Interest

The members of the Select Committee which conducted this Inquiry were:

    Lord Brennan
    Baroness Eccles of Moulton
    Lord Hunt of Chesterton
    Lord Lucas
    Baroness Nicol
    Earl of Onslow
    Baroness Richardson of Calow
    Lord Soulsby of Swaffham Prior
    Lord Smith of Clifton (Chairman)
    Lord Taverne
    Baroness Warnock

The Committee appointed as its Specialist Adviser:

The Reverend Professor Michael J. Reiss, Professor of Science Education, Institute of Education, University of London

The Committee received additional specialist assistance from:

Dr Jane A. Smith, freelance researcher, including Secretariat, Boyd Group

Declarations of interest

Baroness Eccles of Moulton

    Vice-Chairman, Durham University Council 1985-
    Chairman, Ealing District Health Authority 1988-93
    Chairman, Ealing, Hammersmith and Hounslow Health Authority 1993-2000
    Member, British Heart Foundation Council 1989-99
    Member, Unrelated Live Transplant Regulatory Authority 1990-99
Lord Hunt of Chesterton
    Chairman and Director, Cambridge Environmental Research Consultants 1987-
    Fellow, Royal Society 1989-
    Council Member, Royal Society 1999
    Professor, Climate Modelling, University College London 1999-
Baroness Nicol
    Council Member, Royal Society for the Protection of Birds 1989-94
    Vice-President, RSPB
Lord Smith of Clifton
    Vice-Chancellor, University of Ulster 1991-99
    Honorary Professor, University of Ulster 1991-
Lord Soulsby of Swaffham Prior
    President, Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons 1984
    Chairman, Animal Research Grants Board 1986-89
    Member, Home Office Animal Procedures Committee 1987-95
    Chairman, Ethics Committee, British Veterinary Association 1994-
    President, Pet Advisory Committee 1996-
    President, Royal Society of Medicine 1998-2000
    Chairman, Companion Animal Welfare Council 1998-
    Patron, Fund for the Replacement of Animals in Medical Experiments
    Chairman, Ethical Revue Panel, Thoroughbred Breeders Association Equine Fertility Unit
    Foundation Fellow, Academy of Medical Sciences
    Fellow, Institute of Biology
    Previously Chairman, Veterinary Advisory Committee, Horserace Betting Levy Board
    Joint Hon. Secretary, Associate Parliamentary Group for Animal Welfare
Lord Taverne
    Chairman, Sense about Science
Baroness Warnock
    Chairman, Home Office Committee on Animal Procedures, 1980-85
    Member, Ethical Advisory Committee, Pharmagene

previous page contents next page

House of Lords home page Parliament home page House of Commons home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2002