Select Committee on Science and Technology Third Report

Appendix 2

List of witnesses

The following witnesses provided evidence. Those marked * gave oral evidence.

Professor Michael Akam

Professor Richard M Bateman

Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council (Dr Peter Doyle, Dr Alf Game, Professor Julia Goodfellow) *

Department of Biological Sciences, Imperial College of Science Technology and Medicine

Institute of Biology, British Ecological Society, British Phycological Society, British Society for Plant Pathology, Freshwater Biological Association, Royal Entomological Society, and Society for Experimental Biology

Dr B Bolton, Dr I Gauld, Dr J Noyes, Dr G Robinson

British Phycological Society

CABI Bioscience

Department for Culture, Media and Sport

Department for Education and Skills

Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (Mr Jonathan Tillson)*

Department for International Development

Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Forestry Commission

Freshwater Biological Association

Dr Ian D Gauld

Professor Paul Harvey

Institute of Horticulture

Invertebrate Conservation Trust

Joint Nature Conservation Committee (Dr Ian McLean)*

Linnean Society of London (Sir David Smith)*

Professor James Mallet

School of Biological Sciences, University of Manchester

National Biodiversity Network Trust

National Museums & Galleries of Wales

Natural Environment Research Council (Dr John Baker, Professor John Lawton, Mr Rob Margetts)*

Natural History Museum

Office of Science and Technology (Professor David King, Lord Sainsbury of Turville)*

Department of Plant Sciences, University of Oxford

Professor John S Parker

Miss J M Pick


PlantNet - The Plant Collections Network of Britain & Ireland

Professor Sir Ghillean Prance

Public Health Laboratory Service

Royal Botanic Gardens, Edinburgh

Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew

Royal Entomological Society of London

Royal Horticultural Society

Royal Society (Lord May of Oxford)*

Save British Science Society

Dr Robert Scotland

Systematics Association (Professor Chris Humphries)*

United Nations Environment Programme World Conservation Monitoring Centre (Dr Mark Collins)*

Universities UK

Dr Richard Vane-Wright

Wellcome Trust


previous page contents next page

House of Lords home page Parliament home page House of Commons home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2002