Select Committee on Science and Technology Fourth Report


List of Witnesses

The following witnesses provided evidence. Those marked * gave oral evidence.

*  Academy of Medical Sciences

  Professor S G B Amyes

  Association of the British Pharmaceutical Industry

  Association of Clinical Microbiologists

  Association of Clinical Oral Microbiologists

  Aventis Pasteur MSD

  Bard Limited

  Baxter Healthcare Ltd

*  Dr Nick Beeching, Royal Liverpool University Hospital and Liverpool School of Tropical   Medicine

  Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council (BBSRC)

  BioIndustry Association (BIA)

  Dr Nicol Black

*  Ms Hazel Blears MP, Minister for Public Health, Department of Health

*  Professor Pete Borriello, PHLS

  Bradford Metropolitan District Council

  British Healthcare Trades Association

  British Infection Society

  British Medical Association (BMA)

*  Mr Shaun Brogan, Vale of Aylesbury Primary Care Trust

*  Dr David Brown, PHLS Central Public Health Laboratory

*  Dr Gerry Bryant, Leicestershire, Northamptonshire and Rutland Health Protection Team

*  Sir Kenneth Calman, Vice Chancellor, Durham University

*  Dr Mike Catchpole, PHLS

  Centre for Applied Microbiology and Research (CAMR)

*  Dr Steve Chatfield, Microscience

  Professor A R M Coates

*  Dr Derrick Crook, Oxford University

  Dr Natasha Crowcroft

  Dr David Dance

*  Dr Martin Donaghy, Scottish Centre for Infection and Environmental Health (SCIEH)

  Dr D W Denning

*  Professor Brian Duerdan, PHLS

  Professor A M Emmerson

*  Mr Nigel Emery, Weymouth and Portland Borough Council

  Faculty of Public Health Medicine

  Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (DEFRA)

  Professor Roger Finch, Nottingham City Hospital

  Focus Technologies

  Food Standards Agency

  Professor Nigel French, University of Liverpool

  Dr John Friedland

*  Dr Ruth Gelletlie, Public Health Medicine Environmental Group

  General Medical Council (GMC)

*  Mr Pallab Ghosh, BBC Science Correspondent

  Jane Gill, Rosemary McCann, Ruth Philp and Alan Silverwood

  GlaxoSmithKline (GSK)

  Global Alliance for TB Drug Development

  Matt Griffiths

*  Professor Paul Griffiths, Clinical Virology Network

  Professor Tony Hart, University of Liverpool

*  Dr Jeremy Hawker, Regional Epidemiologist, West Midlands

  Dr Elizabeth Haworth

*  Health Protection Agency

  Helicobacter Working Group

  Home Office

*  Mrs Janet Howard, Infection Control Nurses Association

  Professor Tom Humphrey, University of Bristol

  Infectious Disease Research Network (IDRN)

  Institute of Biology, Association for Clinical Microbiologists and Society for Applied   Microbiology

  Institute of Food Research

  Department for International Development (DfID)

  Joint Committee on Vaccination and Immunisation (JCVI)

  Mark Kealy

*  Dr Mike Kelsey, Whittington Hospital

*  Mr Ian Kingston, UK Vaccine Industry Group (UVIG)

  Leeds City Council, Environmental Health and CCDC Audit Group and   Communicable Diseases   Section of the Department of Housing and Environmental Health

*  Professor Paul Little, Southampton University

*  Dr Julie Logan, SIMFONEC

  Marks and Spencer

*  Medical Research Council (MRC)

*  Dr Liz Miller, PHLS

  Dr Stephen Monaghan

*  Dr Philip Monk, Communicable Disease Control, Leicester

  Dr Philip Mortimer

  Mr and Mrs Mowat

  National Audit Office (NAO)

*  Mr Robert Naylor, University College London Hospitals

  Professor Martin J Newby and Professor Philip J Thomas

*  Professor Angus Nicoll, PHLS

  Dr Michael O'Brien

*  Dr James Paton, Queen's Hospital, Burton upon Trent

*  Sir John Pattison, Department of Health

  Professor T H Pennington

*  Mrs Christine Perry, Infection Control Nurses Association

  Pet Health Council

*  Dr Deenan Pillay, PHLS Antiviral Susceptibility Reference Unit, Birmingham

  PowderJect Pharmaceuticals Plc

  Public Health Laboratory Service (PHLS) Primary Care Advisory Group

  Public Health Laboratory Service (PHLS) South West Group

  Edward Purssell

  Dr Stephen Radwanski

*  Dr Stephen Reeders, MVM Ltd

*  Professor Bill Reilly, Scottish Centre for Infection and Environmental Health (SCIEH)

  Professor Jennifer Roberts

  Roche Diagnostics Ltd

  Roche Products Limited

  Royal College of Pathologists

  Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain

  Royal Society of Edinburgh (RSE)

*  Dr Roland Salmon, PHLS Wales

  Schering Plough Ltd

  Sheffield City Council, Health Protection Service

*  Dr Brian Smyth, Communicable Disease Surveillance Centre, Northern Ireland

  Society of Directors of Public Protection in Wales

  Society for General Microbiology (SGM)

  Specialist Advisory Committee for Antimicrobial Resistance (SACAR)

  Specialist Society for Genitourinary Medicine

*  Dr Robert Spencer, Bristol Royal Infirmary

*  Mr Graham Spittle, IBM Hursley Laboratory

*  Professor Chris Thorns, Veterinary Laboratories Agency

  Dr H A Thurston, Ms K Gunn, Dr M Afza

  Department of Trade and Industry (DTI)

  University of Edinburgh, Centre for Infectious Diseases

*  Dr Martyn Wake, Sutton and Merton Primary Care Trust

*  Wellcome Trust

*  Mrs Gini Williams, City University (London)

  Wiltshire Food Liaison Group

  World Health Organisation (WHO)

*  Dr Stephen Wright, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

  Wyeth Pharmaceuticals

*  Dr Maria Zambon, PHLS Central Public Health Laboratory

previous page contents

House of Lords home page Parliament home page House of Commons home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2003