Select Committee on Science and Technology Fifth Report

Appendix 3: WITNESSES

The following witnesses gave evidence. The marks •, ‡and § indicate witnesses that gave oral evidence — those marked ? as part of the panel of HE knowledge-transfer professionals on 11 March 2003, and those marked ¦ as part of the high-tech business panel on 25 March 2003.

All the evidence is Printed in Volume II except for that marked ƒ which may be inspected at the House of Lords Record Office (telephone 020 7219 5316).

  Mr Paul Abbott, Bolton Technical Innovation Centre

  • Advantage West Midlands (AWM)


  Association of Independent Research and Technology Organisations (AIRTO)

  Association for University Research and Industry Links (AURIL)

  Professor Peter Barrett, University of Salford

  BioCity Nottingham Ltd

  Bioindustry Association

  Bioindustry Association, Scotland

  British Embassy, France

  British Embassy, Germany

  British Embassy, Japan

  British Embassy, United States of America

  British High Commission, Canada

  British Library

  Dr David Brown, Arthur D Little Ltd

  Centre for Sustainable Regional Futures (SURF), University of Salford

  Centre for Urban and Regional Development Studies (CURDS), University of Newcastle

  •   Department of Trade and Industry (DTI) and the Office of Science and Technology (OST)
  •   Department for Education and Skills (DfES)
  •   East of England Development Agency (EEDA)
  •   East Midlands Development Agency (EMDA)
  •   East Midlands University Association

  English Nature

  •   Enterprise Ireland

  European Commission

§ Mr John Gavan, Enterprise plc

‡ Professor Diana Green, Sheffield Hallam University

  Higher Education Funding Council For England (HEFCE)

  Institute of Food Science and Technology

  Institute of Physics

  Invest Northern Ireland

§  Dr James Keaton, Campus Ventures

  Let's TWIST Partnership

§ Mr Doug Liversidge, Quest Investments Ltd

  •   London Development Agency (LDA)

‡ Professor John MacIntyre, University of Sunderland

  •   North East Science and Industry Council
  •   NorthWest Development Agency (NWDA)
  •   NorthWest Science Council

North West Universities Association

  •   One NorthEast (ONE)

  Oxford Innovations Ltd

‡  Dr Christopher Padfield, Cambridge University

  Pera International

‡  Dr David Prior, University of Liverpool

‡  Ms Caroline Quest, King's College, London

ƒ Mr Bernard Quigg

  Research Councils UK

§ Professor David Rhodes, Filtronic plc

  •   Professor Sir Gareth Roberts

‡  Dr Douglas Robertson, University of Newcastle Upon Tyne

  Royal Academy of Engineering

  The Royal Society of Edinburgh

  Scottish Enterprise

  Society of British Aerospace Companies

  •   South East Development Agency
  •   South West Regional Development Agency (SWRDA)

§  Dr Steve Toon, Medeval Ltd

  University of Leeds

  University of Newcastle upon Tyne

  University of Nottingham

  University of Sheffield

ƒ  University of Sussex

  Universities UK

  Welsh Development Agency (WDA)

  West Midlands Higher Education Association

§  Mr Peter Wren-Hilton, HB Internet Ltd

  •   Yorkshire Forward

  Yorkshire Universities

previous page contents next page

House of Lords home page Parliament home page House of Commons home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2003