Select Committee on Science and Technology Fifth Report


AIRTO  Association of Independent Research and Technology Organisations

AURIL  Association for University Research and Industry Links

AWM  Advantage West Midlands (RDA for the West Midlands)

CCLRC  Council for the Central Laboratory of the Research Councils

DCMS  Department of Culture Media and Sport

DEFRA  Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

DfES  Department for Education and Skills

DTI  Department of Trade and Industry

CBI  Confederation of British Industry

CURDS  Centre for Urban and Regional Development Studies, University of Newcastle

EEDA  East of England Development Agency

ELWa  Education and Learning Wales

EPSRC  Engineering and Physical Science Research Council

EMDA  East Midlands Development Agency

EU  European Union

FRESA  Framework for Regional Education and Skills Action

GDP  Gross Domestic Product

HE / HEIs  Higher Education / HE Institutions (generally interchangeable with "universities")

HE-BIS  Higher Education — Business Interaction Survey

HEFCE  Higher Education Funding Council for England

HEFCW  Higher Education Funding Council for Wales

HEIF  Higher Education Innovation Fund

HEROBAC  Higher Education Reach Out to Business and Commerce

IoD  Institute of Directors

IoP  Institute of Physics

IP / IPR  Intellectual Property / IP Rights

ISLI  Institute for System Level Integration, Livingston

IT  Information Technology

ITI  Intermediate Technology Institutes

LDA  London Development Agency

NHS  National Health Service

NWDA  NorthWest Development Agency

ODPM  Office of the Deputy Prime Minister

ONE  One NorthEast (RDA for the North East)

OST  Office of Science and Technology

RDAs  Regional Development Agencies (including the LDA, unless otherwise indicated)

RAE  Research Assessment Exercise

R&D  Research and Development

RSE  The Royal Society of Edinburgh

SBS  Small Business Service

SET  Science, Engineering and Technology

SEEDA  South East of England Development Agency

SHEFC  Scottish Higher Education Funding Council

SMART  Small Firms Merit Award for Research and Technology

SMEs  Small and Medium-sized Enterprises

SURF  Centre for Sustainable Regional Futures, University of Salford

SWRDA  South West Regional Development Agency

TQA  Teaching Quality Assessment

UNICO  The Universities Companies Association

UUK  Universities UK (the successor to the CVCP — Committee of Vice-Chancellors and Principals)

WDA  Welsh Development Agency

YF  Yorkshire Forward (RDA for Yorkshire and Humberside)

previous page contents next page

House of Lords home page Parliament home page House of Commons home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2003