Select Committee on European Union Twenty-First Report

The European Union Committee

The European Union Committee is appointed by the House of Lords "to consider European Union documents and other matters relating to the European Union". The Committee has seven Sub-Committees which are:

Economic and Financial Affairs, and International Trade (Sub-Committee A)

Internal Market (Sub-Committee B)

Foreign Affairs, Defence and Development Policy (Sub-Committee C)

Agriculture and Environment (Sub-Committee D)

Law and Institutions (Sub-Committee E)

Home Affairs (Sub-Committee F)

Social and Consumer Affairs (Sub-Committee G) (established in December 2003)

Our Membership

The members of the European Union Committee are:

Baroness Billingham    Lord Marlesford

Lord Bowness      Lord Neill of Bladen

Lord Brennan      Baroness Park of Monmouth

Lord Dubs         Lord Radice

Lord Geddes         Lord Renton of Mount Harry

Lord Grenfell (Chairman)    Lord Scott of Foscote

Lord Hannay of Chiswick   Lord Shutt of Greetland

Baroness Harris of Richmond   Lord Williamson of Horton

Baroness Maddock    Lord Woolmer of Leeds

The Members of the Sub-Committee which conducted the inquiry are listed in Appendix 1.

Information about the Committee

The reports and evidence of the Committee are published by and available from The Stationery Office. For information freely available on the web, our homepage is:

There you will find many of our publications, along with press notices, details of membership and forthcoming meetings, and other information about the ongoing work of the Committee and its Sub-Committees, each of which has its own homepage.

General Information

General information about the House of Lords and its Committees, including guidance to witnesses, details of current inquiries and forthcoming meetings is on the internet at

Contacts for the European Union Committee

Contact details for individual Sub-Committees are given on the website.

General correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the European Union Committee, Committee Office, House of Lords, London, SW1A 0PW.

The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5791.

The Committee's email address is

contents next page

House of Lords home page Parliament home page House of Commons home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2004