Select Committee on European Union Thirty-Fifth Report

The European Union Committee

The European Union Committee is appointed by the House of Lords "to consider European Union documents and other matters relating to the European Union". The Committee has seven Sub-Committees which are:

Economic and Financial Affairs, and International Trade (Sub-Committee A)

Internal Market (Sub-Committee B)

Foreign Affairs, Defence and Development Policy (Sub-Committee C)

Environment and Agriculture (Sub-Committee D)

Law and Institutions (Sub-Committee E)

Home Affairs (Sub-Committee F)

Social and Consumer Affairs (Sub-Committee G)

Our Membership

The Members of the European Union Committee are:

Lord Blackwell    Lord Maclennan of Rogart

Lord Bowness    Lord Marlesford

Lord Brown of Eaton-under-Heywood  Lord Neill of Bladen

Lord Dubs    Lord Radice

Lord Geddes    Lord Renton of Mount Harry

Lord Goodhart    Baroness Thomas of Walliswood

Lord Grenfell (Chairman)  Lord Tomlinson

Lord Hannay of Chiswick  Lord Woolmer of Leeds

Lord Harrison    Lord Wright of Richmond

The Members of the Sub-Committee which carried out this inquiry (Foreign Affairs, Defence and Development Policy, Sub-Committee C) are:

Lord Bowness (Chairman)

Lord Boyce

Lord Dykes

Baroness Falkner of Margravine

Lord Freeman

Lord Hannay of Chiswick

Lord King of Bridgwater

Lord Lea of Crondall

Baroness Symons of Vernham Dean

Lord Tomlinson

Lord Truscott

Information about the Committee

The reports and evidence of the Committee are published by and available from The Stationery Office. For information freely available on the web, our homepage is:

There you will find many of our publications, along with press notices, details of membership and forthcoming meetings, and other information about the ongoing work of the Committee and its Sub-Committees, each of which has its own homepage.

General Information

General information about the House of Lords and its Committees, including guidance to witnesses, details of current inquiries and forthcoming meetings is on the internet at

Contacts for the European Union Committee

Contact details for individual Sub-Committees are given on the website.

General correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the European Union Committee, Committee Office, House of Lords, London, SW1A OPW

The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5791.

The Committee's email address is

contents next page

House of Lords home page Parliament home page House of Commons home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2006