Select Committee on European Union Seventeenth Report


Sub-Committee A

The members of the Sub-Committee which conducted this inquiry were:

    Lord Alliance
    Lord Blackwell
    Lord Cobbold
    Lord Inglewood
    Lord Jones
    Lord Jordan
    Lord Kerr of Kinlochard
    Lord Maclennan of Rogart
    Lord Radice (Chairman)
    Lord Steinberg


Declaration of Interests

    Lord Alliance
      Chairman, N. Brown Group plc, whose business consists of retailing through direct home shopping fulfilment and financial services (15 February 2005)
      100% of the issued share capital of the Anglo-Eastern Trust Limited, which carries on a financial business embracing lending money, trading in listed investments, investing in unlisted investments, and trading and investing in property (15 February 2005)
      62% of the issued share capital of Mazrek Limited, an R&D company based in Israel, specialising in fuel injection systems for diesel engines(15 February 2005)
      35.8% of the issued share capital of N. Brown Group plc (see paragraph 12(a) registration for details of the Company's Business) (15 February 2005)
      50% of the issued share capital of Dane Properties Limited, a property investment company (15 February 2005)
      45% of the issued ordinary share capital of Affirmative Finance Limited and 100% of the issued preferred ordinary share capital of Affirmative Finance Limited, which has a business of lending money (15 February 2005)
      20% of the issued share capital of Wine Cellar Limited, engaged in retailing through off-licences (15 February 2005)
      4.6% of the issued share capital of Global Natural Energy plc, engaged in petrol retailing and gas supply (15 February 2005)
      2.2% of Huntsworth plc, international public relations (15 February 2005) 110,000 of the issued share capital of 3TP LLC, which offers diagnostic imaging software for cancer detection (15 February 2005)
      Director, Alliance Family Foundation Limited (15 February 2005)
      Director, The University of Manchester Foundation (15 February 2005)
      Director, The Weizmann Institute Foundation Limited (15 February 2005)
      Council Member, The British Olympic Appeal (15 February 2005)
      Trustee, The Next Century Foundation (15 February 2005)
    Lord Blackwell
      Non-executive Director Smartstream Technologies Ltd
      Non-executive Director, Slough Estates plc
      Non-executive Director, The Corporate Services Group plc
      Non-executive Director, Standard Life Assurance
      Non-executive Director, Kinnect Holdings Ltd (subsidiary, Lloyds' of London)
      Non-executive Director, Interserve plc (20 September 2005)
      Non-executive Board Member, Office of Fair Trading
      Special Advisor, KPMG Corporate Finance
      Shareholder, 4C Associates Ltd (business consultants)
      Joint Owner (with wife) of an apartment in SW1, let on an assured short hold tenancy
      Member of Council, Vote-no
      Chairman and Director of the Centre for Policy Studies (Independent 'Think Tank')
      Trustee of the Friends of the University of Pennsylvania
    Lord Cobbold
      Chairman, Lytton Enterprises Ltd (commercial exploitation of family home, Knebworth House, as a tourist attraction) (currently unpaid)
      Beneficial owner of part of the Knebworth Estate in Hertfordshire including residential properties, tenant farmland, woodlands, park and formal gardens
      Former Governor and President of the Development Committee, University of Hertfordshire
      Chairman, Knebworth Twinning Association
      Trustee, Knebworth House Education and Preservation Trust
      Chairman and Trustee, St Mary's and St Martin's Preservation Trust
      Chairman and Trustee, Stevenage Community Trust
      Trustee, The Pilgrim Trust
      Member and former office holder, Historic Houses Association
      Fellow of the Association of Corporate Treasurers
    Lord Inglewood
      Chairman, CN Group (Media)
      Director, Pheasant Inn (Bassenthwaite Lake) Ltd (hotel)
      Chairman, Carr's Milling Industries plc (1 September 2005) (Director from 7 September 2004)
      Farmer and landowner
      Owner, Pheasant Inn (Bassenthwaite Lake) Ltd (hotel)
      Owner, Hutton-in-the-Forest Estate (farmland including residential property in Cumbria)
      Owner, Wythop Estate (farmland including residential property in Cumbria)
      Owner, Hutton-in-the-Forest (historic house open to the public)
      Court of Lancaster University
      Chairman, Reviewing Committee on the Export of Works of Art
      President, Cumbria Tourist Board (7 September 2004)
      Political Adviser (unpaid) for the Estates Business Group (4 October 2005)
      Member, Historic Houses Association Finance & Policy Committee
      Trustee, Elton Estate, Cambridgeshire
      Trustee, Raby Estates, Co. Durham and Shropshire
      Trustee, Thoresby Estate, Nottinghamshire
      Member, Bar
      Member, Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors
      Fellow, Society of Antiquaries of London
    Lord Jones
      Member, The Industrial Advisory Board of the Northern Aerospace Technology Exploitation Centre (N.A.T.E.C) (unpaid) (19 October 2004)
      Chairman, Diocesan Board of Education (Diocese of St. Asaph)
      President, League of Friends, Deeside Community Hospital
      President, Saltney Historical Society
      President, Sandycroft and Mancot Scouts
      President, The Hawarden Singers
      President, Wrexham-Birkenhead Rail Users Association
      Trustee, The Winnicott Clinic of Psychotherapy
      President, Flintshire Alzheimer's Society
      Director, Genesis Initiative (enhances the prospects for small businesses)
      Trustee 'Friends of Africa' (a charity seeking to create small business in Africa)
    Lord Jordan
      No relevant interests
    Lord Kerr of Kinlochard
      Deputy Chairman, Royal Dutch Shell plc
      Non-executive Director, Rio Tinto plc (and Rio Tinto Ltd in Australia)
      Non-executive Director, Scottish American Investment Trust Co. Ltd
      Chairman of Court and Council, Imperial College, London
      Trustee, National Gallery, appointed by the Prime Minister
      Member, Fulbright Commission, appointed by The Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport
      Hon. President, Universities Association for Contemporary European Studies
      Member of Council, Centre for European Reform
      Trustee of the Rhodes Trust
      Trustee, Carnegie Trust for the Universities of Scotland
      Hon. Governor, The Glasgow Academy
      Hon. Fellow, Pembroke College, Oxford
    Lord Maclennan of Rogart
      Crofthouse in Sutherland
      Director, Fruitmarket Gallery, Edinburgh
      Director, National Youth Orchestra of Scotland
      Director, Northlands Creative Glass, Lybster, Caithness
    Lord Radice
      Board Member, European Movement
      Chairman, British Association for Central and Eastern Europe
      Chairman, Franco-British Council
      Trustee, Franco-British Council
    Lord Steinberg
      Non-executive Chairman, Empire Online plc
      Non-executive Chairman, Stanley Leisure plc (gaming company)
      Stanley Leisure
      Member of Advisory Board of University of Salford
      Trustee of British W.I.Z.O (charity)
      President, Manchester Jewish Federation (charity)
      Joint Hon. Life President, U.J.I.A (charity)
      Trustee of Belfast Hebrew Congregation

previous page contents next page

House of Lords home page Parliament home page House of Commons home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2005