Select Committee on Science and Technology First Report


Sub-Committee I

The members of the sub-committee which conducted this inquiry were:
§Lord Broers
*†Lord Drayson
*Baroness Emerton
Baroness Finlay of Llandaff
*Baroness Hilton of Eggardon
*Lord May of Oxford
Lord Mitchell
*Baroness Murphy
*Lord Oxburgh
*Lord Soulsby of Swaffham Prior
Lord Sutherland of Houndwood (Chairman)
*Lord Turnberg
*Baroness Walmsley

§  Since 20 January 2005

*  Co-opted

†  Until 8 April 2005

Specialist Adviser

Professor Thomas Kirkwood, Professor of Medicine and Co-Director for the Institute for Ageing and Health at the University of Newcastle-upon-Tyne, was appointed as Specialist Adviser for the inquiry.

Declarations of Interest

    Lord Drayson

      Past Member of the BioIndustry Association and Chairman 2001-02.

      Founder and Ex CEO Powderject Pharmaceuticals plc 1993-2003.

      Chairman Oxford Children's Hospital Campaign.

      Chairman Entrepreneur in Residence at Said Business School, Oxford University.

    Baroness Emerton

      Chairman, National Association of Hospital and Community Trusts.

      Director, Defence Medical Welfare Service.

    Baroness Finlay of Llandaff

      Veliudre NHS Trust, Cardiff University and Marie Curie Cancer Care.

      President, Chartered Society of Physiotherapy.

    Baroness Murphy

      Vice-President, Alzheimers Disease Society. Visiting Professor in Department of Psychiatry, Queen Mary University of London.

      Chairman , North East London Strategic Health Authority.

    Lord Soulsby of Swaffham Prior

      President, Royal Institute of Public Health.

      Fellow of Academy of Medical Sciences.

    Lord Sutherland of Houndwood

      Non-executive member of the board of NHP (property company whose main interest is care houses for the elderly).

    Lord Turnberg

      Scientific Adviser, Association of Medical Research Charities.

      Vice-President, Academy of Medical Sciences.

      Ex-President, Royal College of Physicians.

previous page contents next page

House of Lords home page Parliament home page House of Commons home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2005