Select Committee on European Union Fortieth Report


Letter from the Chairman to Rt Hon Geoff Hoon MP, Minister for Europe, Foreign and Commonwealth Office

  Thank you for your Explanatory Memorandum dated 14 July 2006 which Sub-Committee C considered at its meeting on 20 July. The Sub-Committee agreed to clear the document from scrutiny.

  We agree that the mandate of the Special Representative in Bosnia and Herzegovina should be strengthened in order to promote stability in the country following the closure of the Office of the High Representative on 30 June 2007.

  We note from your memorandum (paragraph 14) that there is a possibility that the EUSR will become double-hatted with the Head of the Commission Delegation, and that any such proposal will be the subject of a separate Joint Action. We are currently considering the broader issue of double-hatting as part of our inquiry into the Commission's recent Communication "Europe in the World". However, in relation to Bosnia we believe that there are strong grounds for double-hatting given the leading role played by the EU within the country. Accordingly, we hope that you will give your fullest consideration and support to such a proposal, so long as the proper measures for transparency and accountability are put in place.

25 July 2006

Letter from Rt Hon Geoff Hoon MP to the Chairman

  Thank you for your letter of 25 July. I am pleased that the Sub-Committee cleared the document from scrutiny.

  With the planned closure of the Office of the High Representative in June 2007 and the increasing importance of Bosnia's European perspective in maintaining the momentum of reform, we agree that a fully co-ordinated EU presence there is vital. The EU will need to discuss this matter in greater detail in coming months, and we will, of course, endeavour to keep the Scrutiny Committees fully informed and consulted.

17 August 2006

previous page contents next page

House of Lords home page Parliament home page House of Commons home page search page enquiries index

© Parliamentary copyright 2007